Jeffrey Eugenides

United States of America

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1999–2000

Jeffrey Eugenides DAAD


“I ... was born in America and now live in Europe. In fact, in the Berlin district of Schöneberg.” This first-person narrative sentence is spoken by Cal Stephanides in the novel Middlesex, which won the Pulitzer Prize. And the novel's author, Jeffrey Eugenides could say exactly the same about himself for about five years. In 1999 the US writer came to Berlin as a guest of the DAAD’s Artists-in-Berlin programme and lived in Schöneberg with his wife and daughter until summer 2004. He spent eight years (three in Berlin) working on the novel for which he has just won the most-coveted U.S. literature prize. Eugenides once said that Berlin had “saved” him, because this was where he could “just write instead of being an author”. Eugenides: “Far away from New York and the world of publishing I found my way back to those circumstances under which I had begun.”

Berlin saved me ... just writing instead of being an author.
Jeffrey Eugenides

Everything had begun in Detroit, where Eugenides was born in 1960 as the child of Greek parents. At the age of 15 he already knew that he wanted to become a writer. As a student he wrote for a sailing magazine to finance his creative writing studies at Stanford, California. His first novel The Virgin Suicides, which was published in 1993, immediately became an international bestseller and was turned into a film by star director Sofia Coppola.

In Middlesex, Eugenides tells the story of a Greek family of immigrants in Detroit; it is also the fantastic story of the hermaphrodite Cal Stephanides. The author describes the urban society with an oppressive eye for detail and exceptional invention. The novel, celebrated by U.S. critics as “The Great American Novel”, has also been published in German. A collection of stories Air Mail is also available in German, published by the Artists-in-Berlin programme. His novel The Marriage Plot was published in 2011. It is the story of a love triangle set in an American elite university. In 2013 Jeffrey Eugenides became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He holds a professorship in creative writing at Princeton University.

Jeffrey Eugenides

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Schriftsteller

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1999–2000

Jeffrey Eugenides DAAD


„Ich ... bin in Amerika geboren und lebe nun in Europa. Genauer gesagt, im Berliner Bezirk Schöneberg.“ Diesen Satz sagt der Ich-Erzähler Cal Stephanides in dem mit dem Pulitzer-Preis ausgezeichneten Roman „Middlesex“. Und Roman-Autor Jeffrey Eugenides konnte dies fünf Jahre lang genauso von sich selbst sagen. 1999 kam der US-Schriftsteller als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD nach Berlin und lebte bis zum Sommer 2004 mit Frau und Tochter in Schöneberg. An dem Roman, für den er den begehrtesten amerikanischen Literaturpreis erhielt, hat er acht Jahre gearbeitet, drei davon in Berlin. Berlin habe ihn „gerettet“, hat Eugenides einmal gesagt, denn hier konnte er „einfach schreiben, anstatt ein Autor zu sein“. Eugenides: „Weit weg von New York und der Verlagswelt habe ich zu den Umständen zurückgefunden, unter denen ich angefangen habe.“

Berlin hat mich gerettet ... einfach schreiben, anstatt ein Autor zu sein.
Jeffrey Eugenides

Angefangen hat alles in Detroit, wo Eugenides 1960 als Kind griechischer Eltern geboren wurde. Mit 15 wusste er bereits, dass er Schriftsteller werden wollte. Als Student schrieb er für eine Segel-Zeitschrift, um das „Creative Writing“-Studium im kalifornischen Stanford finanzieren zu können. Sein 1993 erschienener erster Roman „The Virgin Suicides“ (dt. „Die Selbstmordschwestern“) wurde gleich ein internationaler Bestseller und von Star-Regisseurin Sofia Coppola verfilmt.

In „Middlesex“ erzählt Eugenides die Geschichte einer griechischen Immigrantenfamilie in Detroit, die auch die abenteuerliche Geschichte des Hermaphroditen Cal Stephanides ist. Der Autor beschreibt die städtische Gesellschaft mit einem beklemmenden Blick fürs Detail und ungewöhnlichem Erfindungsreichtum. Der Roman, von amerikanischen Kritikern als „The Great American Novel“ gefeiert, ist auch auf Deutsch erschienen. Außerdem liegt in deutscher Sprache sein Erzählungsband „Air Mail“ vor, herausgegeben vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm. 2011 erschien sein Roman „Die Liebeshandlung“ („The Marriage Plot“), eine Dreiecksgeschichte, die im Milieu einer amerikanischen Elite-Universität spielt. 2013 wurde Jeffrey Eugenides Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. An der Princeton University hat er eine Professur für Creative Writing inne.

Stand: 2015-09-08