Ilka Eßmüller

Germany

Journalist, TV presenter

DAAD Scholarship 1988–1989

Ilka Eßmüller DAAD


Alligator eyes glowing through the twilight, flooded houses in the poorer quarters of Baton Rouge and convicts working in the fields while wearing their shackles – the journalist Ilka Essmüller had a number of impressive encounters during her study stay in the Southern States of the USA in 1988 and 1989. "Actually, I had applied to the DAAD for a scholarship on the East Coast," recounts the presenter of the TV news programme RTL Nachtjournal. However, the DAAD allocated the America scholarship holder places to universities abroad, and so Essmüller, who was born in Stolzenau, Lower Saxony, in 1964, went to Louisiana State University (LSU) in order to extend her knowledge of American literature and history.

American professors are often a lot more open-minded and accessible than German ones. Although they are tougher and stricter in their assessments, they are also highly committed and motivate the students.
Ilka Eßmüller

Following her initial disappointment, the aspiring American studies student quickly realised that the LSU had more to offer than the courses she would have needed for the study of American studies, political science as well as theatre, film and television studies, which she had begun in Frankfurt. It was at the LSU that she came across a School of Journalism. She had already completed some journalistic internships in Germany and now saw an opportunity to extend and widen this field. "Since I only had two semesters available to me, I immediately applied to the professor in charge for a postgraduate course." From then on, she used every opportunity available to her to work in journalistic fields, for example, she wrote for the university journal as well as the local newspaper, and sat in on the work of the local TV broadcaster.

The lecturers at the LSU encouraged her all along: "American professors are often a lot more open and accessible than German ones," says Ilka Essmüller. "Although they are tougher and stricter in their assessments, they are also highly committed and motivate the students." The rewards for Essmüller's hard work were not only good grades, but also plenty of samples of her journalistic work, which had a positive influence on her career path. In 1992 she graduated with an excellent Master’s. She has worked at RTL since 1994 and been presenting Nachtjournal since 2008. "It was a really valuable year for me," says Ilka Essmüller, when talking about her scholarship. "I'm really grateful to the DAAD."

Ilka Eßmüller

Deutschland

Journalistin, Moderatorin

DAAD-Stipendium 1988–1989

Ilka Eßmüller DAAD


Glühende Alligatorenaugen in der Dämmerung, überschwemmte Häuser in den Armenvierteln von Baton Rouge und Strafgefangene, die in Fußketten Feldarbeit leisten – während ihres Studienaufenthalts in den Südstaaten der USA 1988 und 1989 hatte die Journalistin Ilka Eßmüller eindrucksvolle Begegnungen. „Dabei hatte ich mich beim DAAD eigentlich um ein Stipendium an der Ostküste beworben“, erzählt die Moderatorin der TV-Nachrichtensendung „RTL Nachtjournal“. Doch der DAAD teilte den Amerika-Stipendiaten die Auslands-Universitäten zu, und so landete die 1964 im niedersächsischen Stolzenau Geborene an der Louisiana State University (LSU), um ihre Kenntnisse in amerikanischer Literatur und Geschichte zu vertiefen.

Amerikanische Professoren sind viel offener und zugänglicher als deutsche. Sie bewerten zwar hart und streng, aber sie sind auch sehr engagiert und motivieren die Studierenden.
Ilka Eßmüller

Nach anfänglicher Enttäuschung merkte die angehende Amerikanistin schnell, dass die LSU mehr zu bieten hatte, als die für ihr in Frankfurt begonnenes Studium der Amerikanistik, Politologie sowie Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaften notwendigen Kurse. Dort stieß sie auf eine „School of Journalism“. Bereits in Deutschland hatte sie journalistische Praktika gemacht und sah nun die Chance, das auszubauen. „Da ich nur zwei Semester Zeit hatte, habe mich bei dem zuständigen Professor gleich für den Aufbaukurs beworben.“ Fortan nutzte sie jede Gelegenheit, um journalistisch zu arbeiten, schrieb für die Universitäts- sowie für die Lokalzeitung und hospitierte beim örtlichen TV-Sender.

Von den Dozenten der LSU gab es stets Ermutigung: „Amerikanische Professoren sind viel offener und zugänglicher als deutsche“, erzählt Ilka Eßmüller. „Sie bewerten zwar hart und streng, aber sie sind auch sehr engagiert und motivieren die Studierenden.“ Der Lohn für Eßmüllers Fleiß waren neben guten Noten jede Menge journalistische Arbeitsproben, die ihren Werdegang positiv beeinflussten. 1992 schloss sie ihr Magister-Studium mit „sehr gut“ ab. Seit 1994 arbeitet sie bei RTL Television und moderiert dort seit 2008 das Nachtjournal. „Es war ein sehr wertvolles Jahr für mich“, sagt Ilka Eßmüller über ihr Stipendium, „dafür bin ich dem DAAD sehr dankbar.“

Stand: 2015-10-01