Dr. Juli Zeh

Germany

Writer, lawyer

DAAD Scholarship 1999, DAAD Scholarship 2000

Dr. Juli Zeh DAAD


Juli Zeh's first novel Adler und Engel (Eagles and Angels) became a literary hit on its publication in 2001. The story about the lawyer Max, who is thrown completely off track when the great love of his life commits suicide, has been translated into 28 languages. It marks the beginning of an impressive career as a writer. Even as a young child, Juli Zeh enjoyed writing, but after leaving school she decided to study law. However, before passing her first law degree in Leipzig, she enrolled at the city's Institute of Literature. Adler und Engel became her graduation thesis. Numerous prizes and awards followed, including the German Book Award (2002), the Ernst Toller Award (2003), the Carl Amery Prize for Literature (2009), the Thomas Mann Prize (2013) and the Hildegard von Bingen Prize for Journalism (2015). "It is purely by chance that you hit a nerve among readers – and suddenly they like the book. You can't predict this," said the author in an interview.

In Krakow I learned Polish and increased my interest in Eastern Europe.
Juli Zeh

Juli Zeh comes from a family of lawyers. She was born in Bonn in 1975 as the daughter of the former director of the German Bundestag, Professor Wolfgang Zeh. Her studies in law at Passau and Leipzig concentrated on international law. She went to New York City and Krakow in 1999 and 2000 on a DAAD scholarship. In the Big Apple, Juli Zeh worked as an intern at the United Nations; in Poland she graduated from an Eastern Europe degree programme at the Jagiellionian University of Krakow. Both were enormously enriching experiences. "It was in New York that I abandoned the idea of later working for the United Nations as a lawyer. I found a lot of this to be far too bureaucratic. And in Krakow, I learned Polish and increased my interest in Eastern Europe."

Her openness for what is new reveals itself in Juli Zeh's works. She doesn't fit into any literary pigeonholes. Places and experiences from her life often find their way into her books. And so her travel journal Die Stille ist ein Geräusch (2002) (Even Silence Is a Sound. Travels through Bosnia) is the product of a trip to Bosnia and Herzegovina. A secondary school in her home town of Bonn is the setting for her novel Spieltrieb (Gaming Instinct), which was published in 2004. One year later, her Kleines Konversationslexikon für Haushunde (The Little Encyclopedia for Household Dogs) gives the dog lover an opportunity to explain how her four-legged friend sees the world.

She submitted a complaint of unconstitutionality against biometric fingerprints on identification cards and strongly supported a coalition of the SPD and Alliance 90/The Greens during the 2005 Bundestag election. She commented on the arrest of Radovan Karadžić and worked on a new German constitution in her free time. She wrote her doctoral thesis on the status of Kosovo from the perspective of international law and has expressed her opinion in numerous essays on subjects such as data protection, surveillance and the NSA affair. In 2014 she published a selection of essays under the title Nachts sind das Tiere.

Dr. Juli Zeh

Deutschland

Schriftstellerin, Juristin

DAAD-Stipendium 1999, DAAD-Stipendium 2000

Dr. Juli Zeh DAAD


Bereits der erste Roman von Juli Zeh „Adler und Engel“ von 2001 war ein literarischer Volltreffer. Das Buch über den Juristen Max, den der Selbstmord seiner großen Liebe aus der Bahn wirft, wurde in 28 Sprachen übersetzt. Es markierte den Beginn einer beeindruckenden Schriftstellerkarriere. Schon als kleines Kind hat Juli Zeh geschrieben. Dennoch entschied sie sich nach dem Abitur für ein Jura-Studium. Noch vor dem ersten Staatsexamen in Leipzig schrieb sie sich allerdings am dortigen Literaturinstitut ein. „Adler und Engel“ wurde ihre Abschlussarbeit. Es folgten zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, unter anderem der Deutsche Bücherpreis (2002), der Ernst-Toller-Preis (2003), der Carl-Amery-Literaturpreis (2009), der Thomas-Mann-Preis (2013) und der Hildegard-von-Bingen-Preis für Publizistik (2015). „Man trifft zufällig einen Nerv bei den Lesern – und sie mögen das Buch. Niemand kann das vorhersagen“, so die Autorin in einem Interview.

In Krakau habe ich Polnisch gelernt und mein Interesse für Osteuropa weiter ausgebaut.
Juli Zeh

Juli Zeh kommt aus einer Juristenfamilie. Sie wurde 1974 als Tochter des ehemaligen Direktors beim Deutschen Bundestag, Professor Wolfgang Zeh, in Bonn geboren. Schwerpunkt ihres Studiums der Rechtswissenschaften in Passau und Leipzig war Völkerrecht. Als DAAD-Stipendiatin ging sie 1999 und 2000 nach New York und Krakau. Im Big Apple war Juli Zeh Praktikantin bei den Vereinten Nationen, in Polen absolvierte sie ein Osteuropastudium an der Jagellionian Universität Krakau. Beides waren für sie sehr bereichernde Erfahrungen. „In New York habe ich die Idee aufgegeben, später als Juristin für die UNO zu arbeiten. Vieles war mir dort zu bürokratisch. Und in Krakau habe ich Polnisch gelernt und mein Interesse für Osteuropa weiter ausgebaut.“

Ihre Aufgeschlossenheit für Neues zeigt sich in Juli Zehs Werken: Sie passt in keine literarische Schublade. Häufig fließen Orte und Erlebnisse aus ihrem Leben in ihre Bücher ein. So ist ihr Reisetagebuch „Die Stille ist ein Geräusch“ (2002) das Produkt einer Fahrt nach Bosnien-Herzegowina. Schauplatz ihres 2004 veröffentlichten Romans „Spieltrieb“ ist ein Gymnasium in ihrer Heimatstadt Bonn. Und in „Kleines Konversationslexikon für Haushunde“ lässt die Hundeliebhaberin ein Jahr später einen Vierbeiner seine Sicht der Welt erklären.

In ihrem Roman „Corpus Delicti“ (2009) blickt Juli Zeh ins Jahr 2057. Ihre Vision: Der Staat zwingt seine Bürger zu gesundheitlicher Prävention und ahndet selbst das Rauchen einer Zigarette. Sinn und Moral sind wiederkehrende Themen in Juli Zehs Büchern. Ihre literarische Bekanntheit setzt die Querdenkerin gerne auch politisch ein: Sie reichte Verfassungsklage gegen biometrische Fingerabdrücke auf Ausweisen ein und machte sich bei der Bundestagswahl 2005 für eine Koalition von SPD und Bündnis 90/Die Grünen stark. Sie äußerte sich zur Festnahme von Radovan Karadžić, arbeitete in ihrer Freizeit an einem neuen deutschen Staatsrecht. Sie schrieb ihre Dissertation über den Status des Kosovo aus völkerrechtlicher Sicht und nahm in zahlreichen Essays Stellung zu den Themen Datenschutz, Überwachung und NSA-Affäre. Eine Auswahl der Essays erschien 2014 unter dem Titel „Nachts sind das Tiere“.

Stand: 2015-10-04