Prof. Dr. Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi

Argentina

Philosopher, Professor emiritus at the Universidad de Buenos Aires, researcher at the Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET)

DAAD Scholarship 1976–1982

Prof. Dr. Mario Pedro Miguel  Caimi DAAD


People who immerse themselves in Immanuel Kant's philosophy have to examine the language in detail. After all, it is not even that easily accessible to German-speaking philosophers. Furthermore, translating Kant into another language is a particular challenge. The Argentinian Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi, born in 1947, has been successfully addressing this task for several decades, thereby making Kant's philosophy accessible to Spanish-speaking people.

My memories of the autumn fog in Mainz or the smell of wilted tree leaves are the key to German literature, art and philosophy.
Pedro Miguel Caimi

"During my studies in Buenos Aires, these beautiful texts gave me great pleasure," says Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi, "but then exploring Kant in Germany as well was a real discovery!" The philosopher describes 1976 as a turning point in his life, namely when he came to the University of Mainz on a DAAD scholarship: "Once there, he was taken by the pathos of science." He spent six years there. After returning home, he took on a professorship at the Universidad de Buenos Aires and dedicated his work to exploring Kant's philosophy. Academic exchange with his German colleagues has never been interrupted. In recognition of this work, the philosopher received the International Kant Prize at the XI International Kant Congress 2010, which the Kant Society awards jointly with the Fritz Thyssen-Stiftung. He worked on a Spanish summary of the Enzyklopädisches Wörterbuch by George Samuel Albert Mellin. The six volumes published between 1797 and 1804 are an essential aid to understanding Kant's language and philosophy.

"Without my research stay in Germany, none of this would have been possible for me," says Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi, who became professor emiritus in 2013 and began working as a researcher at Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET). "My memories of the autumn fog in Mainz and the smell of the wilted tree leaves in the garden of the University Library, the direct experience of ancient and medieval monuments, the friendly, casual pose of the people are more than just images. For me, all this is the key to German literature, art and philosophy."

Prof. Dr. Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi

Argentinien

Philosoph, Professor emeritus der Universidad de Buenos Aires, Forscher am Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET)

DAAD-Stipendium 1976–1982

Prof. Dr. Mario Pedro Miguel  Caimi DAAD


Wer in die Philosophie von Immanuel Kant eintaucht, muss sich intensiv mit seiner Sprache auseinandersetzen. Denn sie ist selbst deutschsprachigen Philosophen nicht leicht zugänglich. Kant darüber hinaus in eine andere Sprache zu übertragen, ist da eine besondere Herausforderung. Seit mehreren Jahrzehnten stellt sich der 1947 geborene Argentinier Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi erfolgreich dieser Aufgabe und erschließt die Philosophie Kants für den spanischen Sprachraum.

Meine Erinnerungen an den herbstlichen Nebel in Mainz oder den Geruch der welken Baumblätter sind ein Schlüssel zur deutschen Literatur, Kunst und Denkweise.
Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi

„Schon während meines Studiums in Buenos Aires bereiteten mir diese schönen Texte großes Vergnügen“, erzählt Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi, „aber Kant dann auch in Deutschland zu erforschen war eine Entdeckung!“ Als Wende in seinem Leben bezeichnet der Philosoph das Jahr 1976, als er mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an die Universität Mainz kam: „Dort wurde ich vom Pathos der Wissenschaft gepackt.“ Er blieb sechs Jahre. Nach der Rückkehr in die Heimat übernahm er eine Professur an der Universidad de Buenos Aires und widmete sein Schaffen der Erforschung der Kantischen Philosophie. Der wissenschaftliche Austausch mit seinen deutschen Kollegen ist niemals abgerissen. Für seine Arbeit erhielt der Philosoph beim XI. Internationalen Kant Kongress 2010 in Pisa den internationalen Kant-Preis, den die Kant-Gesellschaft gemeinsam mit der Fritz Thyssen-Stiftung vergibt. Zudem arbeitete er an einer Zusammenfassung des Enzyklopädischen Wörterbuchs von George Samuel Albert Mellin auf Spanisch. Das sechsbändige, zwischen 1797 und 1804 erschienene Werk ist ein unverzichtbares Hilfsmittel zum Verständnis von Kants Sprache und Philosophie.

„Ohne meinen Forschungsaufenthalt in Deutschland wäre mir das alles nicht möglich gewesen“, sagt Mario Pedro Miguel Caimi, der im Jahr 2013 emeritiert wurde und seitdem am Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET) als Wissenschaftler arbeitet. „Meine Erinnerungen an den herbstlichen Nebel in Mainz, den Geruch der welken Baumblätter im Garten der Universitätsbibliothek, das unmittelbare Erlebnis der antiken und mittelalterlichen Denkmäler, die freundliche, gelassene Haltung der Leute sind mehr als Bilder. Das alles ist ein Schlüssel zur deutschen Literatur, Kunst und Denkweise.“

Stand: 2015-09-10