Prof. Dr. José Rodríguez Pérez

Chile

Professor of electrical engineering, former Rector of the Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María (UTFSM) in Chile (2006–2014)

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1982–1985

Prof. Dr. José  Rodríguez Pérez UTFSM


He is one of his country’s leading researchers: Professor Dr José Rodríguez Pérez of the Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María (UTFSM) received the 2014 Premio Nacional de Ciencias Aplicadas y Tecnológicas, one of Chile’s most important scientific awards. His expertise in electrical engineering was recognised by the DAAD back in the 1980s: from 1982 to 1985, Rodríguez completed his PhD at FAU on a DAAD scholarship. “I benefited professionally from the time I spent in Germany and also gained considerable experience of life,” explains Rodríguez. What he found particularly fascinating about Germany was the cultural diversity – and the good organisation. “It had a strong influence on the way I live and work. The scholarship was very important to my career and it’s something for which I’m extremely grateful to the DAAD."

What greatly impressed me about Germany was the cultural diversity and good organisation.
José Rodríguez Pérez

After completing his PhD, Rodríguez began a career as professor at UTFSM in his native Chile. In 1996, though, he took a break from academic life to work for a year in industry. “I assisted Siemens in the copper industry in Santiago de Chile. That, too, was a wonderful experience,” says the DAAD alumnus. Working together with other project partners, Rodríguez succeeded in constructing a rail network to transport copper from the mines up in the mountains to the valley. The researchers did so by exploiting the mineral’s energy potential. “For this development we received the 2013 award in the category energy from the Chilean Academy of Sciences,” says Rodríguez. “That puts the project among the 12 most important innovations in the country over the past 40 years.”

Back at UTFSM, José Rodríguez concentrated on administrative work, first as Director of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Electronics, then as the university’s Vice-rector. In 2006, he was appointed Rector of UTFSM. During his nine-year term in office, the DAAD alumnus intensified the university’s contacts with Germany. “We cultivate numerous cooperative partnerships – for example with researchers in Aachen, Munich, Wuppertal and Siegen,” he says. Since October 2014, José Rodríguez has been responsible for establishing the Advanced Center for Electrical and Electronic Engineering at his university on behalf of Chile’s National Commission for Scientific and Technological Research (CONICYT). “After my long term in office as Rector, I’m looking forward to spending more time researching and teaching again.”

Prof. Dr. José Rodríguez Pérez

Chile

Professor für Elektrotechnik, ehemaliger Rektor der Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María in Chile (2006–2014)

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1982–1985

Prof. Dr. José  Rodríguez Pérez UTFSM


Er gehört zu den Top-Wissenschaftlern seines Landes: Professor Dr. José Rodríguez Pérez von der Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María (UTFSM) erhielt den „Premio Nacional de Ciencias Aplicadas y Tecnológicas“ 2014, einen der wichtigsten Wissenschaftspreise Chiles. Seine Kompetenz in Sachen Elektrotechnik erkannte der DAAD bereits in den 1980er-Jahren: Rodríguez promovierte von 1982 bis 1985 mit einem Stipendium des DAAD an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. „Von der Zeit in Deutschland habe ich beruflich profitiert und zudem viel an Lebenserfahrung gewonnen“, erzählt Rodríguez. Insbesondere die kulturelle Vielfalt habe ihn an Deutschland fasziniert – und die gute Organisation. „Das hat mich in meiner Lebens- und Arbeitsweise deutlich geprägt. Für meine Laufbahn war das Stipendium sehr wichtig, und ich bin dem DAAD dafür äußerst dankbar.“

An Deutschland hat mich die kulturelle Vielfalt und gute Organisation tief beeindruckt.
José Rodríguez Pérez

Nach der Promotion startete Rodríguez an seiner Heimatuniversität, der UTFSM, eine Karriere als Professor. 1996 gönnte er sich allerdings vom akademischen Leben eine Auszeit, um für ein Jahr in der freien Wirtschaft zu arbeiten. „Ich habe die Firma Siemens in Santiago de Chile im Bereich der Kupferindustrie unterstützt. Auch das war eine wunderbare Erfahrung“, sagt der DAAD-Alumnus. Gemeinsam mit anderen Projektpartnern gelang es Rodríguez, Bahnanlagen zu konstruieren, die das Kupfer von den in den Bergen gelegenen Minen ins Tal transportieren. Dazu nutzten die Forscher das Energiepotential des Minerals. „Für diese Entwicklung wurden wir im Jahr 2013 von der chilenischen Akademie der Wissenschaften im Bereich Energie ausgezeichnet“, sagt Rodríguez. „Damit zählt das Projekt zu den zwölf wichtigsten Innovationen des Landes innerhalb der letzten 40 Jahre.“

Zurück an der UTFSM fokussierte sich José Rodríguez auf die Verwaltungsarbeit: zunächst als Direktor des Fachbereichs für Elektrotechnik und Elektronik, dann als Vize-Rektor der Universität. Im Jahr 2006 wurde er zum Rektor der UTFSM ernannt. Während seiner neunjährigen Amtszeit intensivierte der DAAD-Alumnus den Kontakt der Hochschule zu Deutschland. „Wir pflegen zahlreiche Kooperationen, beispielsweise zu Wissenschaftlern in Aachen, München, Wuppertal, Siegen“, sagt er. Seit Oktober 2014 ist José Rodríguez im Auftrag der chilenischen Forschungsgemeinschaft für den Aufbau eines Forschungszentrums für Energietechnik und Elektronik an seiner Universität verantwortlich. „Nach meiner langen Amtszeit als Rektor freue ich mich, wieder verstärkt forschen und lehren zu dürfen.“

Stand: 2015-01-19