Prof. Dr. Herbert A. Henzler

Germany

Management consultant

DAAD Scholarship 1968–1969

Prof. Dr. Herbert A.  Henzler DAAD


Herbert Henzler goes where the air gets thinner. This not only applies to his mountain tours, such as when he and his friend Reinhold Messner climbed the 6,310-metre-high Chimborazo, Ecuador’s highest mountain. He has also climbed high as an economic adviser. With his PhD in economics, he made it all the way to the top at management consultants McKinsey & Company – as Chairman of McKinsey Europe and a member of the office of the Managing Director Worldwide. The company’s European expansion, above all eastward, is largely down to him.

Today’s research labs create tomorrow’s jobs.
Herbert A. Henzler

Henzler’s career began in 1961, when he did a commercial apprenticeship at Deutsche Shell. After studying business administration at Siegen, Saarbrücken and Munich, he went to the University of California, Berkeley, with the assistance of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the DAAD. While there, he met McKinsey consultants from San Francisco, felt a fascination and found his vocation.

The business journal Manager-Magazin rated Henzler as one of the 50 most powerful Germans in 2005. For many years he was a key expert in the consultancy industry, helped a whole range of companies, and experienced the rise and fall of quite a few managers first hand. In his work Henzler focused above all on one thing: taking a close and careful look. Furthermore, he is seen as a perfect networker. His contacts reach to the highest echelons, and not only in business and industry; his advice is also heeded in politics, sport and culture.

In 2001, Henzler, who was born in 1941, stood down as an active consultant at McKinsey and shortly afterwards joined the company’s Advisory Council. But he remained anything but idle. Until 2012, for example, Henzler advised Credit Suisse Deutschland as vice president of the International Advisory Board and on the Board. For many years he was chief adviser as chairman of the Scientific-Technical Advisory Board of the Bavarian State Government where he actively promoted innovation. Besides this, he holds an honorary professorship at the LMU Munich.

Henzler has written numerous books on the strategic management and organisation of international corporations and other economic and social themes. In 2011 he published a book called “Der Generationen-Pakt. Warum die Alten nicht das Problem, sondern die Lösung sind” jointly with Lothar Späth, the former premier of Baden-Württemberg. They put forward the idea that every senior citizen who helps others in the context of a voluntary social year should be credited with this time if they need nursing care later on. In the same year Henzler was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit.

Prof. Dr. Herbert A. Henzler

Deutschland

Unternehmensberater

DAAD-Stipendium 1968–1969

Prof. Dr. Herbert A.  Henzler DAAD


Herbert Henzler geht dorthin, wo die Luft dünner wird. Das gilt nicht nur für seine Bergtouren, bei denen er gemeinsam mit seinem Freund Reinhold Messner schon einmal den Sechstausender Chimborazo, den höchsten Berg Ecuadors, erklettert hat. Auch als Wirtschaftsberater ging es steil nach oben. Bei der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey & Company stieg der promovierte Wirtschaftswissenschaftler bis zum Europa-Chef und Mitglied im Büro des Managing Director Worldwide auf. Die europäische Expansion des Unternehmens, vor allem nach Osteuropa, ist zum Großteil ihm zu verdanken.

In den Forschungslaboren von heute entstehen die Arbeitsplätze von morgen.
Herbert A. Henzler

Henzlers Karriere begann 1961 bei der Deutschen Shell, bei der er eine kaufmännische Lehre absolvierte. Nach dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Siegen, Saarbrücken und München kam er mit Hilfe der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und des DAAD an die University of California in Berkeley in den USA. Dort traf er McKinsey-Berater aus San Francisco, war begeistert und hatte seitdem seine Berufung gefunden.

Das „Manager-Magazin“ zählte Henzler 2005 zu den 50 mächtigsten Deutschen. Viele Jahre lang gehörte er zu den wichtigsten Experten in der Beraterbranche, stand diversen Unternehmen zur Seite und erlebte so manchen Aufstieg und Fall eines Managers mit. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit stand für Henzler vor allem eins: das genaue Hinsehen. Er gilt zudem als perfekter Netzwerker. Seine Kontakte reichen nicht nur bis in die Spitzen der Wirtschaft, auch Politik, Sport und Kultur schätzen seinen Rat.

2001 zog sich der 1941 geborene Henzler als aktiver Berater bei McKinsey zurück und wechselte kurz darauf in den Advisory Council des Unternehmens. Dennoch blieb er alles andere als untätig. Henzler beriet unter anderem bis 2012 die Credit Suisse Deutschland, als Vizepräsident im internationalen Beirat und im Vorstand. Lange Jahre war er als Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlich-Technischen Beirats der Bayerischen Staatsregierung Chefberater und setzte sich für Innovationsförderung ein. Daneben hat er eine Honorarprofessur an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München inne.

Henzler hat zahlreiche Bücher zu Fragen der strategischen Führung und Organisation internationaler Unternehmen sowie zu wirtschafts- und gesellschaftspolitischen Themen verfasst. Zusammen mit dem früheren baden-württembergischen Ministerpräsidenten Lothar Späth brachte er 2011 den Band „Der Generationen-Pakt. Warum die Alten nicht das Problem, sondern die Lösung sind“ heraus. Darin stellten sie die Idee vor, dass jeder Senior, der im Rahmen eines freiwilligen sozialen Jahres anderen hilft, diese Zeit gutgeschrieben bekommt, wenn er selbst pflegebedürftig wird. Im selben Jahr wurde Henzler mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz ausgezeichnet.

Stand: 2015-10-04