Prof. Dr. Harald zur Hausen

Germany

Physician, cancer research specialist, Nobel Prize for Medicine 2008

DAAD Scholarship 1975

Prof. Dr. Harald  zur Hausen DKFZ


His research saves lives: for more than 50 years Harald zur Hausen has been hunting for the causes of infection-related cancers. For his findings on papilloma viruses, which he succeeded in identifying as a cause of cervical cancer, he was awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. He has also received numerous other awards in recognition of his scientific achievements, and in 2009 was awarded the Knight Commander’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Each new finding raises new questions.
Harald zur Hausen

His thesis that viruses could cause cancer was long scoffed at. “You have to stand by your convictions,” says the researcher, who was born in Gelsenkirchen in 1936. What helped him to do that? “The firm belief that you’re on to something worthwhile.” His findings led to the development of vaccines and preventive measures against one of the most common types of cancer in women.

For 20 years, until 2003, Harald zur Hausen headed the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, Germany’s biggest biomedical research institute.  Even now, the retired professor works in the laboratory there every day – when he’s not travelling, that is. “International exchange is an important factor in successful research,” emphasises zur Hausen. The medical expert has frequently held guest professorships at universities around the world, including a spell in Brazil on a DAAD scholarship. “I still keep up these international contacts, even today.” It is unanswered questions that drive his research work. “I believe that the connection between viruses and cancer has yet to be fully elucidated,” he explains. “Each new finding raises new questions.”

His research group is currently investigating a potential connection between eating beef and contracting colon cancer – another hotly debated topic in the research community. That doesn’t bother the Nobel Prize winner, of course. His aim, if the connection is confirmed: “Perhaps getting beef cattle vaccinated to prevent further cases of the disease.”

Prof. Dr. Harald zur Hausen

Deutschland

Mediziner, Krebsforscher, Nobelpreis für Medizin 2008

DAAD-Stipendium 1975

Prof. Dr. Harald  zur Hausen DKFZ


Seine Forschung rettet Leben: Seit mehr als 50 Jahren ist Harald zur Hausen den Ursachen infektionsbedingter Krebserkrankungen auf der Spur. Für seine Erkenntnisse zu Papillomviren, die er als Ursache für Gebärmutterhalskrebs identifizieren konnte, erhielt der  Mediziner 2008 den Nobelpreis. Für seine fachlichen Leistungen wurde er zudem mit zahlreichen weiteren Preisen und 2009 mit dem Großen Bundesverdienstkreuz mit Stern des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ausgezeichnet.

Mit jeder neuen Erkenntnis tun sich neue Fragen auf.
Harald zur Hausen

Seine These, Viren könnten möglicherweise Krebs auslösen, war lange belächelt worden. „Man darf sich nicht beirren lassen“, sagt der 1936 in Gelsenkirchen geborene Forscher. Was hat ihm dabei geholfen? „Das Bewusstsein, dass es eine Sache ist, für die es sich lohnt.“ Auf der Grundlage seiner Erkenntnisse konnten Impfstoffe und präventive Maßnahmen zur Vorsorge gegen eine der häufigsten Krebsarten bei Frauen entwickelt werden.

20 Jahre lang, bis 2003, leitete Harald zur Hausen das Deutsche Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, die größte biomedizinische Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland.  Bis heute geht der emeritierte Professor dort jeden Tag ins Labor – sofern er nicht auf Reisen ist. „Der Austausch auf internationaler Ebene ist für eine erfolgreiche wissenschaftliche Arbeit von hohem Wert“, betont zur Hausen. Immer wieder war der Mediziner als Gastprofessor an Hochschulen in aller Welt tätig, unter anderem mit einem DAAD-Stipendium in Brasilien. „Diese internationalen Kontakte halte ich bis heute aufrecht.“ Was ihn in seiner Arbeit antreibt, sind die Fragestellungen. „Ich halte den Zusammenhang von Viren und Krebs noch nicht für völlig aufgeklärt“, stellt er fest. „Mit jeder neuen Erkenntnis tun sich neue Fragen auf.“

Aktuell forscht seine Arbeitsgruppe an einem möglichen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Verzehr von Rindfleisch und der Erkrankung an Dickdarmkrebs. Wieder ein Thema, das in der Fachwelt kontrovers diskutiert wird. Den Nobelpreisträger stört das natürlich nicht. Sein Ziel, sollte sich der Zusammenhang bestätigen lassen: „Vielleicht Rinder impfen zu lassen, um weitere Erkrankungen zu verhindern.“

Stand: 2015-10-15