Prof. Dr. Hans N. Weiler

United States of America

Former Rector of the European University Viadrina and Professor Emeritus at Stanford University

DAAD Scholarship 1991

Prof. Dr. Hans N. Weiler DAAD


Hans N. Weiler’s retirement in 1999 certainly had but little effect on his diary. As an expert on education and research management questions, the former Rector of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder is in great demand and consequently continues to sit on many panels as a competent advisor – not only in Germany. In the United States, the former DAAD scholarship holder is considered an experienced expert on the U.S. university administration system; indeed, he held many academic offices there in the 1980s and 1990s.

Cooperation between Polish and German universities is uncomplicated and intensive.
Hans N. Weiler

In 2014, Hans Weiler celebrated his 80th birthday in Berlin – together with many of the people who have been personally and professionally close to him – at the Hertie School of Governance, the development of which he also accompanied for many years in an advisory capacity.

Born in Krefeld in 1934, the research scientist has meanwhile been living in the United States for more than 40 years. After studying philosophy, politics and education at Frankfurt, Freiburg and London, Weiler took up a position as Assistant Professor at Stanford in 1965; 14 years later he was Professor of Education and Political Sciences there.

From 1974 to 1979, Weiler was the Director of the UNESCO International Institute of Educational Planning. His ties with Germany remained, even though the educational adviser and his wife became US citizens in 1983. Weiler published works in English on Germany’s education system and gave lectures in Germany. 1991 saw him come to Berlin on a DAAD scholarship to collect data for a book on the transformation of East Germany’s education system following the political change. Two years later he exchanged Stanford for Frankfurt an der Oder and became the first Rector of the European University. At the Viadrina, Weiler introduced the elements he liked in the U.S. university system. “It is the best of all the systems I know.” The emphasis on teaching and on providing guidance, counselling and supervision for students is just as important to the holder of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany as are good contacts between Germans and Poles. “Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought that cooperation between universities in these two countries could be as uncomplicated and intensive as it is today.”

In 2012, Weiler was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal State of Brandenburg.

Prof. Dr. Hans N. Weiler

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Ehemaliger Rektor der Europa-Universität Viadrina, Professor emeritus der Stanford University

DAAD-Stipendium 1991

Prof. Dr. Hans N. Weiler DAAD


Als Hans N. Weiler 1999 in den Ruhestand ging, hatte das auf seinen Terminkalender sicherlich wenig Einfluss. Der ehemalige Rektor der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder ist als Experte in Sachen Hochschule und Wissenschaftsmanagement gefragt und sitzt nach wie vor als kompetenter Ansprechpartner auf vielen Podien. Und das nicht nur in Deutschland. In den USA gilt der einstige DAAD-Stipendiat als erfahrener Kenner der amerikanischen Universitätsadministration, hatte er doch dort in den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren viele akademische Ämter wahrgenommen. 2014 feierte Hans Weiler seinen 80. Geburtstag in Berlin – im Kreis vieler Weggefährten an der Hertie School of Governance, deren Entwicklung er viele Jahre ebenfalls beratend begleitete.

Die Kooperation zwischen polnischen und deutschen Hochschulen ist unproblematisch und intensiv.
Hans. N. Weiler

Die USA sind seit mehr als 40 Jahren die Heimat des 1934 in Krefeld geborenen Wissenschaftlers. Nach dem Studium der Philosophie, der Politologie und der Pädagogik in Frankfurt, Freiburg und London ging Weiler 1965 als Assistant Professor an die Stanford University und 14 Jahre später war er dort Professor für Erziehungs- und Politikwissenschaften.

In den Jahren 1974–1979 arbeitete Weiler als Direktor am Internationalen Institut für Erziehungsplanung der UNESCO. Die Verbindungen zu Deutschland blieben, auch wenn der Bildungsberater und seine Frau 1983 die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft annahmen. Weiler publizierte über das deutsche Bildungssystem in englischer Sprache und hielt Vorträge in Deutschland. 1991 kam er mit einem DAAD-Stipendium nach Berlin, um Daten für ein Buch über die Umwandlung des ostdeutschen Bildungswesens nach der Wende zu sammeln. Zwei Jahre später tauschte er Stanford gegen Frankfurt an der Oder und wurde der erste Rektor der Europa-Universität. An der Viadrina führte Weiler das ein, was ihm am US-Hochschulsystem gefällt. „Es ist das Beste von allen, die ich kenne.“ Die Betonung der Lehre und die Betreuung der Studierenden sind dem Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes ebenso wichtig wie gute Kontakte zwischen Deutschen und Polen. „Nie im Traum hätte ich daran gedacht, dass die Kooperation zwischen den Hochschulen beider Länder so unproblematisch und intensiv sein würde, wie sie heute ist.“ 2012 erhielt Weiler den Verdienstorden des Landes Brandenburg.

Stand: 2015-09-14