Prof. Dr. Halina Szulc

Poland

Researcher

DAAD Scholarship 1958

Prof. Dr. Halina Szulc DAAD


In 1958, 40 years to the day before the opening of the DAAD Office in Warsaw, the geographer Halina Szulc received a letter stating she had been awarded a scholarship for a stay in Germany. Speaking after her retirement, she was still astonished that she received a visa for a study visit to Germany in the middle of the Cold War.

In 1958 I was the first Polish DAAD scholarship holder to travel to Germany.
Halina Szulc

In 1958, one day after passing the viva for her doctorate, Halina Szulc travelled to Münster to complete part of her research stay there, before visiting Göttingen, Münster and Kiel. The expert on historical settlements had done research on villages around Wrocław for her doctoral thesis and she actually wanted to publish it in German too. However, after her return to Poland she was prohibited from doing that and was also not allowed to participate in conferences abroad for seven years.

Later, Szulc, whose German great-grandfather had emigrated to Poland at the beginning of the 19th century, repeatedly travelled to Germany as a professor at the Polish Academy of Sciences. In 1982, she was invited to give a series of lectures at the geography departments of the universities of Göttingen, Mainz, Freiburg, Tübingen and Würzburg as well as at the history department of the University of Bonn.

The geographer, who was born in 1924, crowned her life's work in 2002 by publishing a major historical atlas of rural settlements in Poland – in Polish, English and German. In September 2003 – as a member of working group for genetic settlement research in Central Europe – she presented the atlas to a conference of the working group in Greifswald.

Halina Szulc died in Warsaw in 2012.

Prof. Dr. Halina Szulc

Polen

Wissenschaftlerin

DAAD-Stipendium 1958

Prof. Dr. Halina Szulc DAAD


1958 – auf den Tag genau 40 Jahre vor der Eröffnung der DAAD-Außenstelle in Warschau erhielt die Geographin Halina Szulc ihre Stipendienzusage für Deutschland. Noch heute staunt die inzwischen emeritierte Wissenschaftlerin darüber, dass sie mitten im Kalten Krieg ein Visum für einen Studienaufenthalt in Deutschland erhielt.

Ich reiste 1958 als erste polnische DAAD-Stipendiatin nach Deutschland.
Halina Szulc

Einen Tag nach der Verteidigung ihrer Dissertation reiste Halina Szulc 1958 nach Münster, verbrachte dort einen Teil ihres Forschungsaufenthalts, später ging es nach Göttingen, Münster und Kiel. Die Expertin für historische Siedlungsformen hatte in ihrer Doktorarbeit die Dörfer um Breslau erforscht und wollte das Buch eigentlich auch in deutscher Sprache veröffentlichen. Doch nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Polen wurde ihr dies, wie auch für sieben Jahre lang die Teilnahme an Kongressen im Ausland, untersagt.

Später reiste Szulc – deren deutscher Urgroßvater Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts nach Polen eingewandert war – als Professorin an der Polnischen Akademie der Wissenschaften immer wieder nach Deutschland. Im Jahre 1982 hatte sie eine Einladung für eine Reihe von Vorlesungen an geographischen Instituten der Universitäten in Göttingen, Mainz, Freiburg, Tübingen und Würzburg sowie an dem Historischen Institut der Universität in Bonn bekommen.

Ihr Lebenswerk hat die 1924 geborene Geografin 2002 mit der Herausgabe eines großen „Historischen Atlas der ländlichen Siedlungen in Polen“ gekrönt –  in polnischer, englischer und deutscher Sprache. Im September 2003 – als Mitglied des Arbeitskreises für genetische Siedlungsforschung in Mitteleuropa – präsentierte sie den Atlas während der Tagung dieses Arbeitskreises in Greifswald.

2012 starb Halina Szulc in Warschau.

Stand: 2015-09-26