Dr. Gunter Pleuger

Germany

Lawyer, diplomat, former German ambassador to the UN

DAAD Scholarship 1966–1967

Dr. Gunter Pleuger dpa


Gunter Pleuger was born in 1941 and has been a diplomat since the end of the 1960s. In November 2002 he received his dream job: German ambassador to the United Nations. From 2003 to 2006, the lawyer represented the Federal Republic of Germany on the UN Security Council and, at the time of the Iraq crisis, held a position that called for great tact and sensitivity. “Joschka Fischer's best man" long had his eyes set on the ambassadorship in New York. Shortly after he entered service at the Federal Foreign Office in Bonn in 1969, the doctor of law spent four years working in the Federal Republic’s UN bureau, after which he knew: "I always wanted to return."

I wouldn't want to do without the time at the ENA.
Gunter Pleuger

After postings in New Delhi and Washington, the Wismar-born Pleuger advanced his career in Germany: under Joschka Fischer he became state secretary of the Federal Foreign Office, was responsible for Europe, including South Eastern Europe, during the NATO strikes against the Milosevic regime and in autumn 2000 he represented Germany's interests at the European Union's Nice Summit.

Yet, even before his diplomatic career, Gunter Pleuger had already travelled to Paris with a DAAD scholarship, namely to the ENA "not an institute of knowledge delivery, but rather an institute of knowledge application," emphasises Pleuger. And he still enthuses about the French working methods and seminars today, "which, in all fields of state activity, prepare students for developing options for action at the political decision-making level".

Gunter Pleuger certainly found this kind of experience useful at the United Nations. Germany and France jointly led the coalition against the Iraq War – against the resistance of the United States. Subsequently, Pleuger endeavoured, together with representatives of other states, to bring about a reform of the United Nations and to gain a permanent seat on the Security Council for Germany.

In July 2006, Gunter Pleuger left the United Nations. From 2006 and 2008 he was a visiting lecturer at the Chair for International Organisations and International Policy Field Research at the University of Potsdam. From 2008 to 2014, Pleuger was president of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder), where he was able to contribute his international experience. "In the thinking at this university, there is a parallelity with my earlier career. The international and interdisciplinary profile of the Viadrina corresponds with foreign policy thinking. We are multilateralists and seek to solve global problems in an interdisciplinary approach," commented Pleuger in an interview with the Tagesspiegel in the year he took office.

Dr. Gunter Pleuger

Deutschland

Jurist, Diplomat, ehemaliger deutscher UN-Botschafter

DAAD-Stipendium 1966–1967

Dr. Gunter Pleuger dpa


Diplomat ist Gunter Pleuger seit Ende der 1960er-Jahre und im November 2002 bekam er seinen Traumjob: Botschafter Deutschlands bei den Vereinten Nationen. Von 2003 bis 2006 vertrat der 1941 geborene Jurist die Bundesrepublik im Weltsicherheitsrat und bekleidete in Zeiten der Irak-Krise einen Posten, der viel diplomatisches Fingerspitzengefühl erfordert. „Joschka Fischers bester Mann“ hatte den Botschafterposten in New York schon lange im Blick. Kurz nachdem er 1969 beim Auswärtigen Amt in Bonn seinen Dienst angetreten hatte, arbeitete der promovierte Jurist vier Jahre im UNO-Büro der Bundesrepublik und wusste seitdem: „Ich wollte immer wieder zurück.“

Ich möchte diese Zeit an der ENA nicht missen!
Gunter Pleuger

Nach Einsätzen in Neu-Delhi und Washington machte der in Wismar geborene Pleuger Karriere in Deutschland: Er wird unter Joschka Fischer Staatssekretär im Auswärtigen Amt, ist für Europa einschließlich Südosteuropa während der NATO-Angriffe gegen das Milosevic-Regime zuständig und vertritt im Herbst 2000 deutsche Interessen beim Nizza-Gipfel der Europäischen Union.

Gunter Pleuger ging noch vor seiner Diplomatenkarriere mit einem DAAD-Stipendium nach Paris und zwar an die ENA, wo bis zum heutigen Tage die führenden Köpfe der französischen Politik und Verwaltung ausgebildet werden. Im Gegensatz zur deutschen Universität sei die ENA „kein Institut der Wissensvermittlung, sondern ein Institut der Wissensanwendung“, unterstreicht Pleuger. Er ist noch heute begeistert von französischen Arbeitstechniken und den Seminaren, „die ihre Studenten in allen Bereichen staatlichen Handelns darauf vorbereiteten, Handlungsoptionen für die politische Entscheidungsebene aufzubereiten.“

Diese Erfahrungen konnte Gunter Pleuger bei den Vereinten Nationen gut gebrauchen. Deutschland führte zusammen mit Frankreich die Koalition gegen den Irak-Krieg an – gegen den Widerstand der USA. In der Folgezeit bemühte sich Pleuger zusammen mit den Vertretern anderer Staaten um eine UNO-Reform und um einen ständigen Sitz Deutschlands im Weltsicherheitsrat.

Im Juli 2006 beendete Gunter Pleuger seine Tätigkeit bei den Vereinten Nationen. Von 2006 bis 2008 war er Gastdozent am Lehrstuhl für Internationale Organisationen und Internationale Politikfeldforschung an der Universität Potsdam. Von 2008 bis 2014 war er Präsident der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder. Seine internationalen Erfahrungen hat er dort eingebracht. „Im Denken dieser Universität gibt es eine Parallelität zu meinem früheren Beruf. Das internationale und interdisziplinäre Profil der Viadrina entspricht dem außenpolitischen Denken. Wir sind Multilateralisten und versuchen, globale Probleme interdisziplinär zu lösen“, sagte Pleuger im Jahr seines Amtsantritts gegenüber dem „Tagesspiegel“.

Stand: 2015-10-05