Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer

Germany

Marine geologist

DAAD Scholarship 1979–1980

Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer DAAD


What many people would see as exciting adventures – expeditions on board the research vessel Meteor through the pack ice of Antarctica or storms in the Bermuda Triangle – are actually part of Gerold Wefer’s everyday life as a researcher. What is more he enjoys telling the public all about it – successfully too. That is because the marine geologist at the University of Bremen is able to explain scientific subjects in a vivid and easy-to-follow way. In 2001, the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany presented the scientist with the Communicator Prize worth 50,000 euros. Each year, the prize is awarded to recognised scientists who stand out in their ability to communicate their research to the general public. Wefer remained true to his mission – from 2006 to 2014 he was chairman of the Steering Committee of the scientific initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog. In 2011, he received the Alfred Wegener Medal, one of the highest honours that the  European Geophysical Union can award researchers who have acquired an outstanding international reputation.

I see passing research findings onto the population as self-evident.
Gerold Wefer

Gerold Wefer was born in 1944 and after finishing elementary school initially did an apprenticeship with Deutsche Bundesbahn, the German rail company. Afterwards he went on to do his Abitur, and finally studied geology and palaeontology in Kiel and Miami from 1968 to 1973. Three years later, he completed his doctorate and in 1979 Wefer went to the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of California, San Diego as a DAAD scholarship holder. He has been professor of general geology at the University of Bremen, focusing on marine geology, since 1985.

Popular exhibitions such as the Marine Research Weeks or Open Ship Days were initiated by Gerold Wefer and colleagues at his university. These projects aim to give the public a real insight into science and stimulate their interest. During the Open Ship Days event, he used the presence of the research vessel Meteor in Bremen to spend two days showing people what work on board is really like.

Among other things, the ever-active professor headed one of the six DFG Research Centres and, until 2012, the Centre for Marine Environmental Sciences (MARUM) at the University of Bremen, a marine research institution that is meanwhile recognised worldwide for its excellence. The Universum Science Centre in Bremen, an interactive museum that opens up the world of science and research to the public, was co-initiated by Wefer. It gives visitors a real hands-on experience, and some 500,000 people visited the centre in its first year alone. When the Donors' Association named Bremen and Bremerhaven as the City of Science 2005, again it was coordinator Gerold Wefer who pulled all the strings.

Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer

Deutschland

Meeresgeologe

DAAD-Stipendium 1979–1980

Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer DAAD


Expeditionen mit dem Forschungsschiff im Packeis der Antarktis oder Stürme am Bermuda-Dreieck – was sich für einige nach spannendem Abenteuer anhört, ist für Gerold Wefer Forscher-Alltag. Und über diesen berichtet er gerne einer breiten Öffentlichkeit – mit Erfolg. Denn der Meeresgeologe an der Universität Bremen schafft es, wissenschaftliche Sachverhalte anschaulich und gut verständlich zu erklären. Dafür erhielt der Wissenschaftler 2001 den mit 50.000 Euro dotierten Communicator-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft. Mit dem Preis werden jedes Jahr Wissenschaftler ausgezeichnet, die durch gute Vermittlung ihrer Forschung in der Öffentlichkeit herausragen. Wefer blieb seiner Mission treu – von 2006 bis 2014 war er Vorsitzender des Lenkungsausschusses von Wissenschaft im Dialog. 2011 erhielt er die „Alfred Wegener Medal“ – eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen, die die Europäische Geowissenschaftliche Union an Wissenschaftler vergibt, die international einen herausragenden Ruf erlangt haben. 

Ich sehe es als selbstverständlich an, wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse an die Bevölkerung weiterzugeben.
Gerold Wefer

Gerold Wefer, Jahrgang 1944, machte nach der Volksschule zuerst eine Lehre bei der Deutschen Bundesbahn, holte dann das Abitur nach und studierte von 1968–1973 Geologie und Paläontologie in Kiel und Miami. Drei Jahre später promovierte er, 1979 ging Wefer als DAAD-Stipendiat an die Scripps Institution of Oceanography an der University of California. Seit 1985 ist er Professor für Allgemeine Geologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Meeresgeologie an der Universität Bremen.

Ausstellungen wie die „Wochen der Meeresforschung“ oder „Tage des offenen Schiffs“ hat Gerold Wefer gemeinsam mit Kollegen seiner Hochschule ins Leben gerufen. Ziel dieser Projekte ist es auch, der breiten Bevölkerung Wissenschaft schmackhaft zu machen. Beim „Tag des offenen Schiffes“ nutzte er den Aufenthalt des Forschungsschiffes „Meteor“ in Bremen, um den Menschen zwei Tage lang die Arbeit an Bord zu zeigen.

Der umtriebige Professor leitete unter anderem auch eines der sechs DFG-Forschungszentren sowie bis 2012 das Zentrum für Marine Umweltwissenschaften (MARUM) der Universität Bremen – eine inzwischen für seine Exzellenz weltweit bekannte Meeresforschungseinrichtung. Das interaktive Museum „Universum Science Center“, das in Bremen Türen zur Wissenschaft und Forschung für die Öffentlichkeit öffnet, wurde von Wefer mitkonzipiert; allein im ersten Jahr kamen 500.000 Besucher. Auch als Bremen und Bremerhaven vom Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft zur „Stadt der Wissenschaft 2005“ gekürt wurden, liefen bei Koordinator Gerold Wefer die Fäden zusammen.

Stand: 2015-10-04