Dr. Gerhard Teufel

Germany

Lawyer, Rector of Salem Kolleg

DAAD Scholarship 1981–1982

Dr. Gerhard Teufel DAAD


I like working with people more than working with files.
Gerhard Teufel

Gerhard Teufel still enthuses today about his studies at the École Nationale d'Administration (ENA), the graduate school in Paris. “It was a fantastic year,” he says looking back. All subjects were represented at the French elite university, and his fellow students came from a many different areas of interest. Today the courses still include a three-month internship that takes future graduates into the French provinces. So it was no problem for Teufel to get to know the country and its people.

After studying law at Freiburg, Geneva, Tübingen and Montpellier, Teufel completed his articled training in Freiburg and Paris. It was quite by chance that the Baden-Württemberger, who was born in 1947, studied law. He says today that he probably chose this subject partly out of opposition to his family, all of whom were physicians.

He was secretary general of the German National Academic Foundation from 1995 to mid-2012. Responsibility for the foundation's approximately 6,000 scholarship holders often took Teufel abroad and led to many contacts, which needed to be networked. This work suited his nature well: “I like working with people more than working with files,” the lawyer says. Teufel says he also benefited from the ENA alumni group. “You know a lot of people who hold important positions today and are able to create important contacts.” This network will now benefit Salem Kolleg, which was founded in 2012. Teufel was its founding rector. Salem Kolleg opened in September 2013 and cooperates closely with the University of Konstanz. It aims to help school-leavers make the transition to university.

Dr. Gerhard Teufel

Deutschland

Jurist, Rektor des Salem Kollegs

DAAD-Jahresstipendium 1981–1982

Dr. Gerhard Teufel DAAD


Ich habe lieber mit Menschen als mit Akten zu tun.
Gerhard Teufel

Von seinem Studienaufenthalt an der französischen Verwaltungshochschule École Nationale d’Administration (ENA) in Paris ist Gerhard Teufel heute noch begeistert: „Es war ein Super-Jahr“, sagt er rückblickend. An der französischen Elite-Schule waren alle Fachrichtungen vertreten, und die Kommilitonen kamen aus verschiedenen Interessensgebieten. Zur Ausbildung gehört bis heute ein dreimonatiges Praktikum, das die künftigen Absolventen in die französische Provinz führt. Land und Leute kennen zu lernen, war für Teufel also kein Problem.

Nach seinem Jurastudium in Freiburg, Genf, Tübingen und Montpellier verbrachte Teufel seine Referendarzeit in Freiburg und Paris. Zur Juristerei kam der 1947 geborene Baden-Württemberger eher durch Zufall: Er habe dieses Studium wohl auch ein wenig aus Opposition zu einer Familie angefangen, in der es lauter Mediziner gab, meint er heute.

Von 1995 bis Mitte 2012 war er Generalsekretär der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. Die Verantwortung für die rund 6.000 Stipendiaten der Studienstiftung führte Teufel oft ins Ausland und brachte viele Kontakte mit sich, die es zu vernetzen galt. Diese Aufgabe passte zu seinem Naturell: „Ich habe lieber mit Menschen als mit Akten zu tun“, sagt der Jurist. Vom Club der Ehemaligen der ENA profitierte Teufel ebenfalls, erzählt er. Man kenne dadurch viele Leute, die heute in wichtigen Positionen sind und könne wichtige Kontakte herstellen. Dieses Netzwerk wird nun auch dem 2012 gegründeten Salem Kolleg zugutekommen, dessen Gründungsrektor Teufel ist. Das Salem Kolleg, eine Bildungseinrichtung, die im September 2013 eröffnete, kooperiert mit der Universität Konstanz und erleichtert angehenden Studierenden den Übergang zur Universität.

Stand: 2015-10-05