Prof. Dr. Ignacio Mantilla

Colombia

Rector of the Universidad Nacional de Colombia

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1986-1991

Prof. Dr. Ignacio  Mantilla privat


Ignacio Mantilla is a man of precision. That’s why he loves mathematics – and the German language: “The German language is versatile and rich. It enables you to verbally describe mathematical problems with great precision,” says Ignacio Mantilla, one of whose main areas of research is applied mathematics.

For the Universidad Nacional de Colombia, cooperation with Germany is and remains the most fertile source of intercultural exchange and education.
Ignacio Mantilla

He is also precise and cosmopolitan in the way he runs his office. On 29 March 2012 the mathematician (55) was appointed Rector of Colombia’s most eminent university, where he had previously been responsible for the university’s science faculty as its Dean. Ignacio Mantilla’s career in science also began at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá. It was here that he was awarded a master’s degree in mathematics. He subsequently completed his PhD with a DAAD scholarship in Mainz. “That scholarship was crucial for my academic career,” the scientist emphasises. “At that time it wasn’t possible to do a PhD in my field in Colombia.”

He says the time he spent in Germany had quite an influence on him, both as a scientist and as a person: “I still take my orientation from German publications, both in research and teaching,” Ignacio Mantilla says. “I also have a high regard for German culture. I made many friends during my time in Germany and we still keep in contact.” His relations with professors at German and French universities are not only personal; a lively cooperation has developed – right up to the level of including student exchanges.

Ignacio Mantilla continues to promote cultural exchange in his capacity as Rector and has German universities in particular in view: “There are many professors working in a wide range of disciplines at the Universidad Nacional who completed part of their training in Germany,” he says. “Spending a period in Germany is still desirable, especially for our PhD students.” But German students, lecturers and visiting scientists are also being invited to conduct research at the Universidad Nacional. The DAAD’s role in this is key, he says: “The DAAD’s support has always been consistent and efficient,” says Ignacio Mantilla. “Furthermore, the close links its lecturers and local representatives maintain with the Universidad Nacional have aroused many people’s interest in the German language and culture.” In February 2015 Ignacio Mantilla was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in recognition of his services in promoting academic and scientific exchange between Germany and Colombia.

Prof. Dr. Ignacio Mantilla

Kolumbien

Rektor der Universidad Nacional de Colombia

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1986–1991

Prof. Dr. Ignacio  Mantilla privat


Ignacio Mantilla ist ein Mann der Präzision. Deshalb liebt er die Mathematik – und die deutsche Sprache: „Die deutsche Sprache ist vielseitig und reichhaltig. Mit ihr lassen sich mathematische Probleme verbal sehr präzise beschreiben“, sagt Ignacio Mantilla, zu dessen Forschungsschwerpunkten die angewandte Mathematik zählt.

Für die Universidad Nacional de Colombia ist und bleibt die Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland die fruchtbarste Quelle des interkulturellen Austausches und der Ausbildung.
Ignacio Mantilla

Mit Präzision und Weltoffenheit führt er auch sein Amt. Am 29. März 2012 wurde der Mathematiker zum Rektor der bedeutendsten kolumbianischen Universität ernannt; zuvor war er schon als Dekan für die naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität verantwortlich. Auch den Einstieg in die Wissenschaft nahm Ignacio Mantilla an der Universidad Nacional de Colombia in Bogotá: Hier absolvierte er ein Magisterstudium der Mathematik, promovierte dann aber mithilfe eines DAAD-Stipendiums in Mainz. „Das Stipendium war für meinen wissenschaftlichen Werdegang zentral“, betont der 1957 geborene Wissenschaftler. „In Kolumbien war es zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch gar nicht möglich, in meinem Fachgebiet zu promovieren.“

Die Zeit in Deutschland habe ihn geprägt, als Wissenschaftler und als Mensch: „Sowohl bei der Forschung als auch bei der Lehre orientiere ich mich noch heute an deutschen Publikationen“, sagt Ignacio Mantilla. „Außerdem schätze ich die deutsche Kultur. Während meiner Zeit in Deutschland habe ich Freundschaften geschlossen, die ich noch heute pflege.“ Mit Professoren an deutschen und französischen Universitäten verbinden ihn nicht nur persönliche Beziehungen; eine rege Zusammenarbeit, bis hin zum Studierendenaustausch hat sich entwickelt.

Den interkulturellen Austausch treibt Ignacio Mantilla auch als Rektor voran. Dabei hat er insbesondere deutsche Universitäten im Blick: „An der Universidad Nacional arbeiten zahlreiche Hochschullehrer der verschiedensten Fachbereiche, die einen Teil ihrer Ausbildung in Deutschland absolviert haben“, sagt er. „Gerade für unsere Promotionsstudenten ist ein Aufenthalt in Deutschland nach wie vor wünschenswert.“ Doch auch deutsche Studierende, Dozenten und Gastwissenschaftler werden zu Forschungsaufenthalten an der Universidad Nacional eingeladen. Zentral sei dabei die Rolle des DAAD: „Die Unterstützung des DAAD war immer beständig und effizient“, sagt Ignacio Mantilla. „Zudem hat die enge Anbindung seiner Lektoren und lokalen Vertreter an die Universidad Nacional bei vielen das Interesse an der deutschen Sprache und Kultur geweckt.“ Für seine Verdienste für den deutsch-kolumbianischen Wissensaustausch wurde Ignacio Mantilla im Februar 2015 mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ausgezeichnet.

Stand: 2015-02-11