Prof. Dr. Fuad Rifka

Syrian Arab Republic (Syria)

Philosopher, lyricist, translator

DAAD Scholarship 1962–1963

Prof. Dr. Fuad Rifka DAAD


A chance encounter awoke Fuad Rifka's passion for German literature and philosophy. In the early 1960s, the young poet came across a volume of poems by Rainer Maria Rilke during a visit to the Goethe-Institut in Beirut. This discovery led to a fruitful and lasting relationship: It awoke in Fuad Rifka the wish to "translate German lyric poetry into Arabic so as to make it accessible to the whole Arabian world". He was the first to translate Rilke's poetry from German into Arabic, and he also translated works by Hölderlin, Novalis, Hesse, Celan, Brecht and Goethe. He received several prizes for this, such as the Friedrich-Gundolf-Prize of the German Academy of Language and Poetry in 2001 and the Goethe-Institut's Goethe Medal in 2010.

As a young poet I stood in the dark, but my encounter with German culture enabled me to begin to find my way.
Fuad Rifka

Fuad Rifka was born in Syria in 1930. He came to Germany for the first time in 1962 thanks to a scholarship from the DAAD. At the University of Tübingen, he continued his studies in philosophy and gained his doctorate there three years later on the Aesthetics of Martin Heidegger. Further DAAD-funded stays in Germany followed. Later, Rifka once described the encounter with German poetry as an "earthquake for his existence". As a professor of philosophy, Fuad Rifka taught at the Lebanese American University in Beirut for more than 30 years and placed German philosophy at the centre of his teaching there.

In the early 1950s, Fuad Rifka was one of the founding members of the avant-guard poetry magazine Shi’r. His own poetry, with its deliberately chosen, straightforward language, is seen as an exceptional phenomenon in the world of Arabic lyric poetry. His first volume of poetry appeared in 1961. In Germany, his poetry was first published as a bilingual edition in 1990. “As a young poet, I stood in the dark,” said Fuad Rifka, “but my encounter with German culture enabled me to begin to find my way. Like someone who is blind but gradually begins to see.”

Fuad Rifka died on 14 May 2011.

Prof. Dr. Fuad Rifka

Syrien

Philosoph, Lyriker, Übersetzer

DAAD-Stipendium 1962–1963

Prof. Dr. Fuad Rifka DAAD


Eine zufällige Begegnung weckte in Fuad Rifka die Leidenschaft für deutsche Literatur und Philosophie. Anfang der 1960er-Jahre fiel dem jungen Dichter beim Besuch des Goethe-Instituts in Beirut ein Gedichtband von Rainer Maria Rilke in die Hände. Aus der Entdeckung entstand eine fruchtbare und andauernde Beziehung: Sie weckte bei Fuad Rifka den Wunsch, „deutsche Lyrik ins Arabische zu übersetzen, um sie der gesamten arabischen Welt zugänglich zu machen“. Als Erster übertrug er Rilkes Dichtung direkt aus dem Deutschen ins Arabische, darüber hinaus übersetzte er Werke von Hölderlin, Novalis, Hesse, Celan, Brecht und Goethe. Dafür wurde er mehrfach ausgezeichnet, beispielsweise erhielt er 2001 den Friedrich-Gundolf-Preis der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung, 2005 das Bundesverdienstkreuz sowie 2010 die Goethe-Medaille des Goethe-Instituts.

Als junger Dichter stand ich im Dunkeln durch meine Begegnung mit der deutschen Kultur habe ich angefangen, meinen Weg zu finden.
Fuad Rifka

Dank eines Stipendiums des DAAD kam der 1930 in Syrien geborene Fuad Rifka 1962 erstmals nach Deutschland. An der Universität Tübingen setzte er sein Studium der Philosophie fort und promovierte dort drei Jahre später über die Ästhetik Martin Heideggers. Es folgten weitere DAAD-geförderte Aufenthalte in Deutschland. Die Begegnung mit der deutschen Dichtkunst und Philosophie hat Rifka später einmal als „Erdbeben für seine Existenz“ bezeichnet. Als Professor für Philosophie lehrte Fuad Rifka über 30 Jahre an der Lebanese American University in Beirut und stellte dort die deutsche Philosophie in den Mittelpunkt seiner Lehre.

Fuad Rifka gehörte Anfang der 1950er-Jahre in Beirut zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der avantgardistischen Lyrik-Zeitschrift Sh’ir. Seine eigene Dichtung gilt mit ihrer bewusst schlicht gewählten Sprache als Ausnahmeerscheinung in der Welt der arabischsprachigen Lyrik. Sein erster eigener Gedichtband erschien 1961. In Deutschland wurde seine Dichtung erstmals 1990 in einer zweisprachigen Ausgabe publiziert. „Als junger Dichter stand ich im Dunkeln“, sagte Fuad Rifka, „durch meine Begegnung mit der deutschen Kultur habe ich angefangen, meinen Weg zu finden. Wie jemand der blind ist und allmählich anfängt zu sehen.“

Fuad Rifka verstarb am 14. Mai 2011.

Stand: 2015-09-14