Franz-Hermann Hirlinger

Germany

Bank executive, management consultant

DAAD Scholarship 1984–1986

Franz-Hermann Hirlinger DAAD


The successful bank executive Franz-Hermann Hirlinger recognised the opportunity offered by a crisis and – no longer far from retirement age – launched into a new career. In the wake of the financial crisis, Bayrische Landesbank (BayernLB) closed the regional offices in Asia that Franz-Hermann Hirlinger managed. Rather than accepting a golden handshake and retiring, Hirlinger, who was born in 1950, founded a management consultancy. His company helped German small and medium-sized enterprises enter Asian markets, especially in Japan and Korea. Since 2005 G&S Asia has had several branches. The company is successful and its founder and former president satisfied.

This scholarship built a bridge to Japan and Korea for me – both in professional and personal terms.
Franz-Hermann Hirlinger

Hirlinger’s first intensive contact with Japan began in 1984 when he went to the country with the DAAD to complete a 20-month programme after completing a traineeship as an industrial clerk and a degree programme in business administration, economics and journalism in Pforzheim and Berlin. He spent 10 months learning the language and 10 months at the ARD studio in Tokyo. It was a new programme: for the first time, young graduates with work experience did only come to Japan for a short visit, but were also able to familiarise themselves very thoroughly with a country that had previously been alien to many of them. During the almost two years of the programme, Hirlinger acquired the specialist expertise that was to determine his later career. "This scholarship built a bridge to Japan and Korea for me – both in professional and personal terms," recalls Hirlinger.

He initially wanted to become a financial journalist and worked at the ARD studio in Tokyo, but then received interesting offers from the worlds of banking and industry after he placed an advertisement "Japan expert looking for …" in the situations vacant section. He spent several years working as an Asia analyst at DZ-Bank in Frankfurt and was a commentator on the Japanese securities market for the "Telebörse" programme on commercial television. In 1989, he returned to Japan – together with his Japanese wife and their children – to work for Credit Suisse. In 1994 Hirlinger became head of the BayernLB regional office and founded its Korean branch in Seoul. He also opened the regional office of Invest in Bavaria, the Bavarian economic development agency, and became a member of the Board of Samsung Electronics Seoul as an “outside director”.

Franz-Hermann Hirlinger

Deutschland

Bankmanager, Unternehmensberater

DAAD-Stipendium 1984–1986

Franz-Hermann Hirlinger DAAD


In der Krise hat der erfolgreiche Bankmanager Franz-Hermann Hirlinger die Chance erkannt und – gar nicht mehr weit vom Ruhestandsalter entfernt – den Einstieg in eine neue Karriere gewagt. Die Bayerische Landesbank hatte infolge der Finanzkrise ihre Repräsentanzen in Asien geschlossen, die Franz-Hermann Hirlinger leitete. Doch statt den goldenen Handschlag in den Ruhestand zu akzeptieren, gründete der 1950 Geborene eine Unternehmensberatung. Sie hilft deutschen Mittelständlern beim Schritt nach Asien, besonders nach Japan und Korea. Seit 2005 gibt es die G&S Asia mit verschiedenen Büros. Das Unternehmen ist erfolgreich, der Gründer und ehemalige Präsident zufrieden.

Dieses Stipendium baute mir eine Brücke nach Japan und Korea – sowohl beruflich als auch privat.
Franz-Hermann Hirlinger

Hirlingers intensiver Kontakt mit Japan begann 1984, als er – nach einer Lehre als Industriekaufmann und einem Studium in Betriebswirtschaft, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Publizistik in Pforzheim und Berlin – mit einem DAAD-Stipendium für ein 20-monatiges Programm in das Land reiste. Zehn Monate lernte er die Sprache, zehn Monate arbeitete er im ARD-Studio in Tokio. Es war ein neues Programm: Erstmals kamen junge Akademiker mit Berufserfahrung nicht nur für eine Stippvisite nach Japan, sondern konnten sich grundlegend mit dem damals für viele noch so unbekannten Land vertraut machen. In diesen knapp zwei Jahren erarbeitete Hirlinger sich die Expertise, die seine spätere Karriere bestimmte. „Das DAAD-Stipendium baute mir eine Brücke nach Japan und Korea – sowohl beruflich als auch privat“, erinnert er sich.

Zunächst wollte er Finanzjournalist werden, arbeitete im ARD-Studio in Tokio, dann aber gingen auf seine Anzeige „Japanexperte sucht…“ interessante Angebote aus Bankenwelt und Industrie ein. Mehrere Jahre arbeitete er als Asienanalyst für die DZ-Bank in Frankfurt und kommentierte bei der „Telebörse“ eines Privatsenders den japanischen Wertpapiermarkt. 1989 ging es – mit seiner japanischen Ehefrau und den gemeinsamen Kindern – für die Credit Suisse zurück nach Japan. Dort übernahm Hirlinger 1994 die Leitung der Repräsentanz der Bayerischen Landesbank und gründete deren koreanische Niederlassung in Seoul. Zudem eröffnete er eine Vertretung der bayerischen Wirtschaftsförderung „Invest in Bavaria“ und war als Outside-Director Mitglied des Vorstandes der Samsung Electronics Seoul.

Als die Bayerische Landesbank ihre Pforten in Asien schloss, machte sich Hirlinger selbständig und baute die Unternehmensberatung G&S Asia auf. 2012 verkaufte er die Firma und zog von Tokio nach Berlin – nicht ohne weiter als Berater sowie als Japan- und Koreaexperte tätig zu sein.

Stand: 2015-10-04