Dr. Erwin Wickert

Germany

Diplomat, writer

DAAD Scholarship 1935

Dr. Erwin  Wickert DAAD


Seeing the world with his own eyes was Erwin Wickert's motto in life. Before this "exceptional member of the foreign service" – as one journalist described him – took up his diplomatic postings in Paris, London, Bucharest and Beijing, Wickert travelled to the United States as a DAAD scholarship holder. In 1935, he studied political economy and political sciences in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, travelled by train through the country and subsequently went off to East Asia.

I could never bear seeing the world only from across my desk.
Erwin Wickert

The region never let go of him again. Erwin Wickert spent the war years in Shanghai and Tokyo. Later, in his capacity as German ambassador in Beijing, he experienced the years of China's political opening from 1976 to 1980. The diplomat recorded many of his experiences in other cultures in literary works and to do that he occasionally took leave from the diplomatic service. Wickert wrote a dozen novels and non-fiction works and his radio dramas made him one of the most well-known radio play authors in the young Federal Republic.

The year 2001 saw the publication of the second volume of his autobiography Die glücklichen Augen (Fortunate eyes). Based on countless diary entries, Wickert describes the time from 1947 to 1976 – a fascinating piece of contemporary history from the perspective of a cosmopolitan author.

Another book of memories was published in 2003: Das Gipfelgespräch (The Summit Meeting). A collection of letters entitled Das muss ich Ihnen schreiben. Beim Blättern in unvergessenen Briefen (I had to write to you about this – browsing through unforgotten letters) was also published in 2005. In 1997, the former ambassador established the Erwin Wickert Foundation with the goal, among others, of promoting understanding between East Asia and the West. The foundation awards the Orient and Occident Prize for outstanding achievements in this area.

Erwin Wickert was the father of the well known journalist Ulrich Wickert. Erwin Wickert died in Remagen in March 2008.

Dr. Erwin Wickert

Deutschland

Diplomat, Schriftsteller

DAAD-Stipendium 1935

Dr. Erwin  Wickert DAAD


Die Welt mit eigenen Augen ansehen – das war das Lebensmotto von Erwin Wickert – einer „Ausnahmeerscheinung im Auswärtigen Dienst“, wie ein Journalist ihn beschrieb. Bevor Wickert aber seinen diplomatischen Pflichten in Paris, London, Bukarest und Peking nachkam, reiste er als DAAD-Stipendiat in die Vereinigten Staaten. 1935 studierte er in Carlisle/Pennsylvania Volkswirtschaft und Politische Wissenschaften, reiste mit dem Zug durchs Land und machte sich anschließend nach Ostasien auf.

Ich konnte es nie ertragen, die Welt nur über den Schreibtisch zu sehen.
Erwin Wickert

Die Region ließ ihn danach nicht mehr los: Die Kriegsjahre verbrachte Erwin Wickert in Shanghai und Tokio. Als deutscher Botschafter in Peking erlebte er von 1976 bis 1980 die Zeit der politischen Öffnung Chinas. Der Diplomat verarbeitete seine Erfahrungen in anderen Kulturen literarisch und ließ sich deshalb mehrmals vom diplomatischen Dienst beurlauben. Ein gutes Dutzend Romane und Sachbücher schrieb Wickert und wurde mit seinen rund 20 Hörspielen einer der bekanntesten Hörspielautoren der jungen Bundesrepublik.

2001 erschien der zweite Band seiner Autobiographie „Die glücklichen Augen“. Basierend auf unzähligen Tagebuchnotizen schilderte Wickert darin die Zeit von 1947 bis 1976 – ein faszinierendes Stück Zeitgeschichte aus der Sicht eines kosmopolitischen Schriftstellers.

Ein weiteres Erinnerungsbuch kam 2003 heraus: „Das Gipfelgespräch“. Außerdem erschien 2005 eine Briefsammlung mit dem Titel: „Das muss ich Ihnen schreiben. Beim Blättern in unvergessenen Briefen.“ Noch zu Lebzeiten gründete der ehemalige Botschafter 1997 die „Erwin Wickert Stiftung“. Zweck der Stiftung  ist unter anderem die Förderung des Verständnisses zwischen Ostasien und dem Westen – für herausragende Leistungen auf diesem Gebiet vergibt die Stiftung den Orient- und Okzident-Preis.

Erwin Wickert ist Vater des bekannten Journalisten Ulrich Wickert. Im März 2008 starb Erwin Wickert in Remagen.

Stand: 2015-10-05