Prof. Dr. Elena Esposito

Italy

Sociologist

DAAD Scholarship 1986–1990

Prof. Dr. Elena  Esposito DAAD


Elena Esposito from Italy is seen as one of the leading representatives of systems theory. Born in Milan in 1960, she initially read sociology and philosophy at Bologna, including, among others, with the professor of semiotics and author Umberto Eco. In 1986, Elena Esposito was drawn to Bielefeld. She was determined to study under Niklas Luhmann, one of the foremost social scientists of the 20th century and the creator of sociological systems theory. The plan succeeded. Elena Esposito likes to recall her days as a DAAD scholarship holder in Bielefeld: "A very inspirational atmosphere prevailed there at the time." In 1990 Esposito did her doctorate under Luhmann, and in 2001 she wrote her venia legendi, (Habilitation), at the University of Bielefeld. She teaches communications sociology today at the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia.

We must not allow ourselves to be completely monopolised by technology.
Prof Dr Elena Esposito

With works like Soziales Vergessen. Formen und Medien des Gedächtnisses der Gesellschaft about social memory and forgetfulness (2002) and Die Fiktion der wahrscheinlichen Realität about the fiction of probable reality (2007), Elena Esposito has driven systems theory forward. Her book on the social function of fashion has also made her well known outside specialist circles. In Die Verbindlichkeiten des Vorübergehenden: Paradoxien der Mode (2004) she describes fashion as a phenomenon full of contradictions: Those who behave fashionably would, for example, strive for originality, by behaving or dressing like others.

Her research focuses on the processes taking place in financial markets. Time and space are annulled there, the computer has taken control. "We must not allow ourselves to be completely monopolised by technology," she warns and has also drawn her personal consequences as a result. She still has an index card box on her desk with thousands of handwritten notes, just like her famous teacher, Niklas Luhmann, had.

The researcher has always maintained close links with the German-speaking countries. In 1998 she spent a year at the Freie Universität Berlin as a Research Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Two years later, she held a visiting professorship at the University of Vienna. Most of her academic texts have also been published in German. In addition, she has translated numerous texts into Italian, including a number by Luhmann. It should therefore come as no surprise that Elena Esposito was awarded the DAAD Mittner Prize in 2009 for outstanding services to German-Italian dialogue.

In 2013 and 2014 she returned to Germany as a fellow of the Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie (IKKM) at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, where she focused on high technology media companies and the effective power of technological devices. She has also deepened her research focus with articles such as Algorithmische Kontingenz. Der Umgang mit Unsicherheit im Web (2014) and Beyond the Promise of Security: Uncertainty as Resource (2015).

Prof. Dr. Elena Esposito

Italien

Soziologin

DAAD-Stipendium 1986–1990

Prof. Dr. Elena  Esposito DAAD


Die Italienerin Elena Esposito gilt als eine der führenden Vertreterinnen der Systemtheorie. Die 1960 in Mailand Geborene studierte zunächst Soziologe und Philosophie in Bologna, unter anderem bei dem Semiotik-Professor und Schriftsteller Umberto Eco. 1986 zog es Elena Esposito nach Bielefeld. Sie wollte unbedingt bei Niklas Luhmann, einem der bedeutendsten Sozialwissenschaftler des 20. Jahrhunderts und Entwickler der soziologischen Systemtheorie, studieren. Der Plan ging auf. Elena Esposito erinnert sich gern an ihre Zeit als DAAD-Stipendiatin in Bielefeld: „Dort herrschte damals eine sehr anregende Atmosphäre.“ 1990 promovierte Esposito bei Luhmann, 2001 wurde sie an der Universität Bielefeld habilitiert. Heute lehrt sie Kommunikationssoziologie an der Universität Modena und Reggio Emilia.

Wir dürfen uns von der Technik nicht völlig vereinnahmen lassen.
Elena Esposito

Durch Werke wie „Soziales Vergessen. Formen und Medien des Gedächtnisses der Gesellschaft“ (2002) und „Die Fiktion der wahrscheinlichen Realität“ (2007) hat Elena Esposito die Systemtheorie vorangetrieben. Mit einem Buch über die gesellschaftliche Funktion der Mode ist sie auch außerhalb der Fachwelt bekannt geworden. In „Die Verbindlichkeiten des Vorübergehenden: Paradoxien der Mode“ (2004) beschreibt sie Mode als ein Phänomen voller Widersprüche: Wer sich modisch verhält, würde beispielsweise Originalität anstreben, indem er sich wie andere verhält oder kleidet.

Zudem gilt ihr Forschungsinteresse den Vorgängen auf den Finanzmärkten. Zeit und Raum seien dort aufgehoben, der Computer habe die Herrschaft übernommen. „Wir dürfen uns von der Technik nicht völlig vereinnahmen lassen“, warnt sie und hat auch persönliche Konsequenzen gezogen. Auf ihrem Schreibtisch gibt es immer noch einen Zettelkasten mit Tausenden handgeschriebenen Zetteln, so wie bei ihrem berühmten Lehrer Niklas Luhmann.

Dem deutschen Sprachraum ist die Wissenschaftlerin stets eng verbunden geblieben. 1998 verbrachte sie ein Jahr als Forschungsstipendiatin der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung an der Freien Universität Berlin. Zwei Jahre später hatte sie eine Gastprofessur an der Universität Wien inne. Ein großer Teil ihrer wissenschaftlichen Texte ist auch auf Deutsch erschienen. Zudem hat sie zahlreiche Texte – auch von Luhmann – ins Italienische übersetzt. Kein Zufall also, dass Elena Esposito 2009 mit dem Mittner-Preis des DAAD für besondere Verdienste um den deutsch-italienischen Dialog ausgezeichnet wurde.

In den Jahren 2013 und 2014 kehrte sie als Stipendiatin des Internationalen Kollegs für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar nach Deutschland zurück – und beschäftigte sich dort mit hochtechnisierten Mediengesellschaften und der Handlungsmacht technischer Apparaturen. Auch mit Artikeln wie „Algorithmische Kontingenz. Der Umgang mit Unsicherheit im Web“ (2014) und „Beyond the Promise of Security: Uncertainty as Resource“ (2015) vertiefte sie ihren Forschungsschwerpunkt.

  

Stand: 2015-09-15