Dorota Maslowska

Poland

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2009

Dorota Maslowska DAAD


Dorota Maslowska, born in 1983, gained international renown with her novel Snow White and Russian Red. On its appearance in 2002, she had just turned 19 years of age. The book, a somewhat aggressive, merciless and linguistically callous snapshot of present-day Poland, became an international success, and the language she used created a forum of identification for young Poles.

She had actually already written her second novel, The Queen’s Peacock, to help her come to terms with the media hype surrounding her first work, says Maslowska, who read psychology and cultural studies in Gdansk and Warsaw. The novel, written in a rap rhythm, is set in the sphere of media moguls.

It’s difficult to achieve success and it’s very difficult to repeat it.
Dorota Maslowska

Critics confirm that the author has a quite unique and personal language of her own. She allows the text “to continue over 240 pages in the staccato of a machine gun, allowing this to rain down on the reader”, writes one critic. Admittedly, such martial images do not really fit the small, girlish-looking woman, who likes to hide her face behind blonde-dyed streaks and responds to questions that are all too indiscreet with an embarrassed laugh or occasionally replies to political questions with irritation – because she has experienced how slippery and treacherous this stage can be.

It is precisely this combination of radical observation of everyday life, of merciless language and the charm of a teenager that has made Maslowska not only a literary but also a media attraction.

Her successful debut novel Snow White and Russian Red has since been made into a film, and her first two plays, We Get Along and A Couple of Poor, Polish-Speaking Romanians, have been staged at numerous theatres. On the publication of her novel Darling I Killed Our Cats in 2012, she was hailed in Germany as “Poland’s star author”.

The author occasionally has difficulties with the omnipresent media interest. “It’s difficult to achieve success and it’s very difficult to repeat it.” But with her novels and her two plays she has shown that her literary debut was not a one-off success. Her plays have been successfully staged in Poland again and again. For her second book, Maslowska received the 2005 Nike Prize, Poland’s most important literary award.

The writer experienced her stay in Berlin, as guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin programme, as a welcome reprieve from turbulent times in her home country: “This external perspective on one’s own existence – that’s definitely a very important experience.”

Dorota Maslowska

Polen

Schriftstellerin

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2009

Dorota Maslowska DAAD


International bekannt wurde Dorota Maslowska, Jahrgang 1983, mit ihrem Roman „Schneeweiß und Russenrot“. Als er 2002 erschien, war sie gerade 19 Jahre alt. Das Buch, eine ziemlich aggressive, schonungslose und sprachlich gnadenlose Momentaufnahme der polnischen Gegenwart, wurde zum internationalen Erfolg, ihre Sprache zu einer Identifikationsfläche für die polnische Jugend.

Ihren zweiten Roman „Reiherkönig“ habe sie auch geschrieben, um mit dem Medien-Hype um ihren Erstling fertig zu werden, sagt Maslowska, die Psychologie und Kulturwissenschaft in Danzig und Warschau studiert hat. Der Roman, im Rap-Rhythmus verfasst, spielt in der Sphäre der Medien-Macher.

Es ist schwer, Erfolg zu haben und es ist schwer, ihn zu wiederholen.
Dorota Maslowska

Die Kritiker bescheinigen der Autorin eine ganz eigene und ungewöhnliche Sprache. Sie lasse den Text „240 Seiten lang im Staccato eines Maschinengewehrs auf den Leser niederknattern“, schreibt ein Kritiker. Solche martialischen Bilder passen freilich nicht zu der kleinen, mädchenhafte wirkenden Frau, die ihr Gesicht gern hinter blondierten Strähnen verbirgt, auf allzu indiskrete Fragen gelegentlich mit einem verlegenen Lachen reagiert und auf politische Fragen hin und wieder genervt reagiert – weil sie erlebt hat, wie glatt und tückisch dieses Parkett sein kann.

Genau diese Mischung aus radikaler Gegenwartsbeobachtung, gnadenloser Sprache und dem Charme eines Teenagers ist es, der Maslowska nicht nur zu einer Literatur-, sondern auch zu einer Medien-Attraktion gemacht hat.

Ihr erfolgreicher Debüt-Roman „Schneeweiß und Russenrot“ ist inzwischen verfilmt worden, ihre beiden ersten Bühnenstücke „Wir kommen gut klar mit uns“ und „Zwei arme polnisch sprechende Rumänen“ werden auf zahlreichen Bühnen gezeigt. Für ihren 2012 erschienenen Roman „Liebling, ich hab die Katzen getötet“ wurde sie in Deutschland als „Polens Starautorin“ gefeiert.

Mit dem allgegenwärtigen Medien-Interesse hat die Autorin gelegentlich Schwierigkeiten. „Es ist schwer, Erfolg zu haben, und es ist sehr schwer, ihn zu wiederholen.“ Mit ihren Romanen und ihren beiden Bühnenstücken hat sie aber bewiesen, dass ihr Erstling kein Zufallserfolg war. Immer wieder feiern ihre Theaterstücke auf Polens Bühnen Erfolge. Für das zweite Buch erhielt Maslowska 2005 den NIKE-Preis, die bedeutendste literarische Auszeichnung Polens.

Ihren Aufenthalt als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms hat die Schriftstellerin als willkommene Auszeit von turbulenten Zeiten in ihrer Heimat erlebt und auch erfahren: „Diese Perspektive von außen auf die eigene Existenz, das ist schon eine ganz wichtige Erfahrung.“

Stand: 2015-09-26