Prof. Dr. Dieter Bingen

Germany

Political scientist, Director of the German Poland Institute in Darmstadt

DAAD One-Year Scholarship 1977

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bingen DAAD


Even as a school student, the Slavonic world already fascinated Dieter Bingen, initially and above all the former Czechoslovakia. “It was the difficult and awkward nature of the relations between Germany and the Eastern European countries that interested me," says Bingen, who was born in Cologne in 1952. After leaving school, he studied political science, constitutional history, social history and economic history, sociology and education at the University of Bonn. In the course of his studies, Poland moved ever more into the focus of his attention. 1977 saw Dieter Bingen do research for his doctorate at the Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM) in Warsaw and at the Institute for Western Affairs in Poznan.

My research stay in Poland marked the start of my personal and academic contacts which continue to play an important role for me today.
Dieter Bingen

After completing his doctorate at the University of Bonn in 1979, Dieter Bingen worked as a research assistant at the Federal Institute for Russian, East European, and International Studies in Cologne as well as teaching political science as a contract lecturer at the University of Bonn. Spring 1999 saw him become director of the German Poland Institute in Darmstadt. The DPI is a research, information and conference centre for Polish culture, history, politics, society and for the German-Polish relations that are developing in the context of European integration.

Since 2004 Dieter Bingen has worked as a honorary professor in the field of cultural change and social transformation processes in Europe at the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz. Since 2012 he has been a visiting professor of political science at the Technische Universität Darmstadt. Dieter Bingen has published numerous books and articles dealing with Germany’s neighbouring countries and Poland – with politics, history and the culture of remembrance.

The political scientist has received high honours in both countries for his work, including the Grand Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2013, the Wilhelm Leuschner Medal and the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland in 2014.

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bingen

Deutschland

Politologe, Direktor des Deutschen Polen-Instituts in Darmstadt

DAAD-Stipendium 1977

Prof. Dr. Dieter Bingen DAAD


Die slawische Welt hat Dieter Bingen schon als Schüler fasziniert, zunächst vor allem die damalige Tschechoslowakei. „Es war das Schwierige und Sperrige in den Beziehungen Deutschlands zu den osteuropäischen Ländern, was mich interessierte“, sagt der gebürtige Kölner, Jahrgang 1952. Was folgte, war ein Studium der Politischen Wissenschaft, der Verfassungs-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte, der Soziologie und Erziehungswissenschaft an der Universität Bonn. Dabei rückte Polen immer stärker in den Vordergrund. 1977 forschte Dieter Bingen am Polnischen Institut für Internationale Angelegenheiten (PISM) in Warschau und am Instytut Zachodni in Posen für seine Doktorarbeit.

Mein Forschungsaufenthalt in Polen war der Beginn persönlicher und wissenschaftlicher Kontakte, die bis heute eine wichtige Rolle für mich spielen.
Dieter Bingen

Nach der Promotion 1979 an der Universität Bonn arbeitete Dieter Bingen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bundesinstitut für ostwissenschaftliche und internationale Studien in Köln sowie als Lehrbeauftragter für Politische Wissenschaft an der Universität Bonn. Im Frühjahr 1999 wurde er Direktor des Deutschen Polen Instituts in Darmstadt. Das DPI ist ein Forschungs-, Informations-, und Veranstaltungszentrum für polnische Kultur, Geschichte, Politik, Gesellschaft und die deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen, die sich im Kontext der europäischen Integration entwickeln.

Als Honorarprofessor für das Gebiet „Kultureller Wandel und gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse in Europa“ lehrt Dieter Bingen seit 2004 am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz und als Gastprofessor für Politikwissenschaft seit 2012 an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Er hat zahlreiche Publikationen veröffentlicht, die sich mit den Nachbarn Deutschland und Polen beschäftigen - mit Politik, Geschichte oder Erinnerungskultur. 

Für sein Engagement erhielt der Politologe in beiden Ländern hohe Auszeichnungen, unter anderem 2013 das Große Verdienstkreuz des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und die Wilhelm-Leuschner-Medaille. 2014 das Offizierskreuz des Verdienstordens der Republik Polen.

Stand: 2015-10-05