David Toscana

Mexico

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2003–2004

David Toscana DAAD


A small town right in the middle of the Mexican desert. It has a library, but nobody's interested in its books. The only reader is the librarian himself who sees the world solely through the glasses of literature. When a girl is found dead, he takes the parts of the novels and adds them to the puzzle of a detective story and so unerringly leads the police directly to the murderer. David Toscana's novel El último lector (The last reader) was written during his one-year residence in Berlin.

When writing I always have direct experience of life in mind.
David Toscana

Just like the character in his novel, Toscana spent this time understanding part of the world via the media, and especially through books. "I spent most of the time at home, reading and writing," reports Toscana. He would have liked to have learnt even more about the city and its wealth of cultural life. "But the best thing about such a scholarship really is that you don't have to go out and earn money elsewhere, but can concentrate on your literary work." He also enjoyed the readings. "Berlin is a good place for writers, because there are many and attentive readers and listeners, even if you spend more than an hour reading out loud to them," says the author.

The interplay between real life and fiction is a dominant topic in the stories and novels by Toscana, who succeeded in entering the Mexican bestseller lists in 1995 with his book Estación Tula (Tula Station). As a result, he also became known in Europe and the United States too. His characters' actions are neither logical nor sensible, and their life seems to take place solely in the imagination. Nevertheless, there are many levels of exchange between life and fiction. "When writing I always have direct experience of life in mind," emphasises the engineering graduate. Toscana describes his story-telling technique as "realismo desquiciado" (unrestrained realism), which breaks free from the magic realism. During the 1990s, Toscana was one of a group of "young wild" writers in Mexico who were united by the conviction that no magic was needed to explain the world.

Today the writer lives and works in Monterrey and Warsaw. In La ciudad que el diablo se llevó (2012), Toscana takes an ironic tone to tell the story of four friends in the Polish capital in 1945 who attempt to make ends meet by selling stolen goods.

David Toscana

Mexiko

Schriftsteller

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2003–2004

David Toscana DAAD


Eine Kleinstadt mitten in der mexikanischen Wüste. Sie hat eine Bibliothek, doch niemand interessiert sich für ihre Bücher. Einziger Leser ist der Bibliothekar selbst, der die Welt allein durch die Brille der Literatur wahrnimmt. Als ein Mädchen tot aufgefunden wird, fügt er Elemente aus Romanen zum Puzzle einer Kriminalgeschichte und führt so die Polizei zielsicher zum Mörder. Entstanden ist David Toscanas Roman „El ultimo lector“ (Der letzte Leser) während seines einjährigen Aufenthalts in Berlin.

Ich habe beim Schreiben die direkte Lebenserfahrung immer im Bewusstsein.
David Toscana

Wie seine Romanfigur hat er sich in dieser Zeit einen Teil der Welt über Medien, speziell über Bücher erschlossen. „Ich habe die meiste Zeit zu Hause mit Lesen und Schreiben verbracht“, berichtet Toscana. Von der Stadt mit ihrem reichen kulturellen Leben hätte er gerne noch mehr mitbekommen. „Aber das Beste an solch einem Stipendium ist ohnehin, dass man nicht raus muss, um anderweitig Geld zu verdienen, sondern sich auf die literarische Arbeit konzentrieren kann.“ Genossen hat er auch die Lesungen. „Berlin ist ein guter Ort für Schriftsteller, weil es hier viele und aufmerksame Leser und Zuhörer gibt, auch wenn man mehr als eine Stunde vorliest“, sagt der Schriftsteller.

Das Wechselspiel von realer Lebenswelt und Fiktion ist ein Leitthema von Toscanas Erzählungen und Romanen, der mit „Endstation Tula“ 1995 den Sprung in die mexikanischen Beststellerlisten und damit auch nach Europa und in die USA schaffte. Seine Protagonisten handeln weder mit Logik noch mit Vernunft, und ihr Leben scheint sich einzig in der Vorstellung abzuspielen. Dennoch gibt es einen vielschichtigen Austausch zwischen Leben und Fiktion. „Ich habe beim Schreiben die direkte Lebenserfahrung immer im Bewusstsein“, betont der Diplomingenieur. Seine Erzähltechnik bezeichnet Toscana als „haltlosen Realismus“ (realismo desquiciado), der sich vom magischen Realismus lossagt. In den 1990er-Jahren gehörte Toscana zu einer Gruppe „junger Wilder“ Mexikos, die die Überzeugung einte, dass man des Magischen nicht bedürfe, um die Welt zu erklären.

Heute lebt und arbeitet der Schriftsteller in Monterrey und Warschau. In „ La ciudad que el diablo se llevó“ (2012) erzählt Toscana im ironischen Tonfall die Geschichte von vier Freunden, die versuchen, sich 1945 in der polnischen Hauptstadt mit dem Verkauf von Raubgut durchzuschlagen.

Stand: 2015-09-14