Damián Ortega

Mexico

Artist

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2006–2007

Damián Ortega DAAD


Damián Ortega from Mexico has left visible traces in Berlin – with a number of highly regarded exhibitions and as one of the finalists in the "Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst" competition, the highest valued prize for young artists. The artistic climate in Berlin had inspired him enormously, nowhere else was art taken as seriously as in Berlin, says Ortega, who was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme in 2006–2007.

I'm interested in those very everyday attempts to produce meaning.
Damián Ortega

Damián Ortega, born in Mexico in 1967, stems from a family of artists and intellectuals. His career began with caricatures, a field of art with a long tradition in Mexico. At 16 years of age, he left his parental home, became an apprentice among cartoonists and sculptors, and made ends meet with casual work. He spent several years in Lisbon and Rio de Janeiro. In Rio, he mainly studied the infamous suburbs, the favelas, which are so typical of the major cities of South America. Today, he describes these experiences as important for his work. He also feels an affinity with the work of the Mexican painter Diego Rivera, whose politically inspired murals belong to the icons of Mexican art.

Ortega celebrated his international breakthrough with his sculpture Cosmic Thing at the Venice Biennale in 2002. It shows a VW beetle, a symbol of Mexico's industrial production, broken down into its individual parts, floating in space held just by threads. The use and deconstruction of everyday objects, often charged with political meaning and ironically disrupted, has since become part of his artistic programme. Ortega uses sculptures, but more frequently turns to installation, photography or video performance. "With my work I want to understand the whole setting in which I live," says Ortega. He's interested in the "very everyday attempts to produce meaning".

His first major individual exhibition in Europe was held at the Kunsthalle Basel in 2004. In Berlin, Ortega, together with Japanese artist Shimabuko, celebrated a Fish & Chips performance in which Ortega's mobile seat sculptures contributed the dynamic element. 2007 saw Ortega present his installation "Man is the controller of the universe" at the DAAD-Galerie. It shows an exploding cloud of used tools which the artist bought from Berlin's flea markets. Here, again, Ortega's principle comes to the fore, namely grouping together objects of everyday life in new ways and setting these in different social contexts.

After completing his DAAD scholarship, globetrotter Damián Ortega initially settled in Berlin. Meanwhile, however, he is at home not only in Berlin, but also in his home town Mexico City. His works can now be seen in international museums and galleries. In 2015, for example, he was represented by an individual exhibition in Italy for the first time.

Damián Ortega

Mexiko

Künstler

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2006–2007

Damián Ortega DAAD


Sichtbare Spuren hat der Mexikaner Damián Ortega in Berlin hinterlassen - durch einige viel beachtete Ausstellungen und als einer von vier Finalisten für den „Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst“, dem höchstdotierten Preis für junge Kunst. Das künstlerische Klima in Berlin habe ihn ungemein inspiriert, nirgendwo werde die Kunst so ernst genommen wie in Berlin, sagt Ortega, der 2006-2007 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD war.

Mich interessieren die ganz alltäglichen Versuche, Sinn zu produzieren.
Damián Ortega

Damián Ortega, 1967 in Mexiko geboren, entstammt einer Familie von Künstlern und Intellektuellen. Seine Laufbahn begann er als Karikaturist, einer Kunstrichtung mit Tradition in Mexiko. Als 16-Jähriger verließ er sein Elternhaus, ging bei Cartoonisten und Bildhauern in die Lehre und brachte sich mit Gelegenheitsjobs durch. Mehrere Jahre verbrachte er in Lissabon und Rio de Janeiro. In Rio studierte er vor allem die berüchtigten Vorstädte, die favelas, die so typisch sind für Großstädte in Südamerika. Diese Erlebnisse bezeichnet er heute als wichtig für seine Arbeit. Verbunden fühlt er sich auch dem Werk des mexikanischen Malers Diego Rivera, dessen politische inspirierte Wandmalereien zu den Ikonen der mexikanischen Kunst gehören.

Seinen internationalen Durchbruch feierte Ortega bei der Biennale 2002 in Venedig mit der Skulptur „Cosmic Thing“. Sie zeigt einen VW-Käfer, ein Wahrzeichen der mexikanischen Industrieproduktion, in Einzelteile zerlegt und an Fäden frei im Raum schwebend. Die Verwendung und Dekonstruktion von Alltagsgegenständen, oft mit politischer Bedeutung aufgeladen und ironisch gebrochen, gehört seitdem zum seinem künstlerischen Programm. Ortega nutzt Skulpturen, öfter jedoch Installation, Fotografie oder Video-Performance. „Ich will mit meiner Arbeit das Umfeld verstehen, im dem ich lebe“, sagt Ortega. Ihn interessieren die „ganz alltäglichen Versuche, Sinn zu produzieren“.

Seine erste große Einzelausstellung in Europa war 2004 in der Kunsthalle Basel zu sehen. In Berlin zelebrierte Ortega, gemeinsam mit dem japanischen Künstler Shimabuko, eine „Fish & Chips“ Performance, bei der Ortegas mobilen Sitzskulpturen für das dynamische Element sorgten. 2007 präsentierte Ortegas seine Installation „Man ist the controller of the universe“ in der DAAD-Galerie. Sie zeigt eine explodierende Wolke aus alten Werkzeugen, die der Künstler auf Berliner Flohmärkten gekauft hatte. Auch hier zeigt sich Ortegas Prinzip, Alltagsgegenstände neu zu gruppieren und in veränderte soziale Kontexte zu setzen.

Nach dem Ende seines DAAD-Stipendiums hatte sich der Globetrotter Damián Ortega zunächst in Berlin niedergelassen, mittlerweile ist er sowohl in Berlin als auch seiner Heimatstadt Mexiko-Stadt zu Hause. Seine Werke sind in internationalen Museen und Galerien zu sehen; 2015 war er zum ersten Mal mit einer Einzelausstellung in Italien vertreten.

Stand: 2015-09-11