Prof. Dr. Cornelia Ulrich

Germany

Cancer researcher

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1993–1995

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Ulrich DAAD


Cornelia Ulrich likes to tackle several challenges all at once. Since November 2014 she has engaged in research as senior director for population sciences at the Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) of the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. Since July 2015 she has also been the division chief for cancer population sciences at the university’s Department for Population Health Sciences. Until May 2015 she was chair of the Scientific Council of the International Agency for Research on Cancer. She is also a member of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences.

Ulrich was very busy in Germany too. From 2009 to 2014 she was director of Preventive Oncology at the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) in Heidelberg. Born close to Stuttgart, Cornelia Ulrich was responsible for the newly-established Department of Preventive Oncology at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ). She also held an excellence professorship. At the same time, she worked at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, USA, where she previously conducted 10 years of intensive research.

A family of four is also part of her life plan. "It's easier and normal for scientists in the United States to combine their career and family. I also wanted to bring this with me to Germany," says Cornelia Ulrich. After spending 17 years in the United States, the highly acknowledged academic returned to Germany to establish the young research field of cancer prevention in Heidelberg – before returning to America after the job was done.

It's easier and normal for scientists in the United States to combine their career and family. I also wanted to bring this with me to Germany.
Cornelia Ulrich

This double research home is linked to her DAAD scholarship. "The DAAD-funded stay at the University of Washington was absolutely decisive for my career," explains Cornelia Ulrich. The grant enabled her to complete a doctorate in epidemiology and facilitated her early scientific independence as an assistant professor at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. This was something that was not yet possible in Germany at the time. Her doctoral thesis on the interrelationship between genes, nutrition and bowel cancer continues to be the basis for her research work today. Cornelia Ulrich is acknowledged worldwide as an expert on the role of folic acid in tumour development. She also began her research on sport and immune functions while in the United States – at the same time as she worked on her PhD thesis. Today, she is in charge of the sport and cancer unit in Heidelberg.

What can patients do for themselves after having been diagnosed with cancer? Her wide-ranging scientific inquisitiveness is driven by this question: "The close ties with the hospital at the NCT in Heidelberg formed an outstanding basis for advancing this research.” For example, well-founded answers are to be provided by the ColeCare study, an internationally funded, collaborative research venture that aims to improve the prognosis for bowel cancer patients and facilitate individually tailored therapies. Cornelia Ulrich still keeps her eye on this work: she is developing a German branch of the study with the Preventive Oncology Department in Heidelberg. The HCI is involved in the USA.

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Ulrich

Deutschland

Krebsforscherin

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1993–1995

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Ulrich DAAD


Cornelia Ulrich stellt sich gerne verschiedenen Herausforderungen gleichzeitig: Seit November 2014 forscht sie als Senior Director für Population Sciences am Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) der Universität von Utah in Salt Lake City. Seit Juli 2015 ist sie außerdem Division Chief für Cancer Population Sciences am Department for Population Health Sciences der Universität. Bis Mai 2015 war sie Chair des Scientific Council der International Agency for Research on Cancer. Zudem ist sie Mitglied der European Academy of Cancer Sciences.

In den USA ist es für Wissenschaftlerinnen einfacher und normal, Karriere und Familie zu vereinbaren. Das wollte ich nach Deutschland mitbringen.
Cornelia Ulrich

Auch in Deutschland war Cornelia Ulrich viel beschäftigt. Von 2009 bis 2014 war sie Direktorin des Bereichs Präventive Onkologie am Nationalen Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen in Heidelberg. Zugleich leitete die in der Nähe von Stuttgart Geborene im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum die neu eingerichtete Abteilung für Präventive Onkologie und hatte eine Exzellenz-Professur inne. Nebenbei arbeitete sie am Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, USA, wo sie zuvor zehn Jahre lang intensiv geforscht hatte.

Eine vierköpfige Familie gehört ebenfalls zu ihrem Lebenskonzept. „In den USA ist es für Wissenschaftlerinnen einfacher und normal, Karriere und Familie zu vereinbaren. Auch das wollte ich nach Deutschland mitbringen“, sagt Cornelia Ulrich. Nach 17 Jahren in den USA kehrte die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Akademikerin nach Deutschland zurück, um in Heidelberg den noch jungen Forschungsbereich der Krebsprävention aufzubauen – nach getaner Arbeit ging sie wieder in die USA.

Diese doppelte wissenschaftliche Heimat hat mit ihrem DAAD-Stipendium zu tun. „Der Aufenthalt mit dem DAAD an der University of Washington war für meinen Lebensweg ganz entscheidend“, erklärt Cornelia Ulrich. Das Stipendium hat ihr die Promotion in Epidemiologie und eine frühe wissenschaftliche Selbstständigkeit als Assistenzprofessorin am Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center ermöglicht – etwas, was in Deutschland damals noch nicht möglich war. Die Doktorarbeit über den Zusammenhang von Genen, Ernährung und Darmkrebs bildet bis heute die Grundlage ihrer Forschung. Cornelia Ulrich gilt weltweit als eine Expertin für die Rolle der Folsäure bei der Tumorentwicklung. Forschungen zu Sport und Immunfunktion begann sie ebenfalls in den USA – neben der Doktorarbeit. In Heidelberg leitete sie auch den Bereich Sport und Krebs.

Was können Patienten nach einer Krebsdiagnose für sich selber tun? Von dieser Frage wird ihre vielseitige wissenschaftliche Neugier gelenkt: „Die enge Verzahnung mit der Klinik am NCT in Heidelberg war eine ausgezeichnete Grundlage, um diese Forschung voran zu treiben.“ Fundierte Antworten soll zum Beispiel die ColoCare-Studie bringen – ein von internationaler Kooperation getragenes Forschungsunternehmen, das die Prognose für Darmkrebspatienten verbessern und individuell zugeschnittene Therapien möglich machen soll. Cornelia Ulrich lässt diese Arbeit nicht aus den Augen: In Heidelberg baute sie mit der Abteilung Präventive Onkologie den deutschen Zweig der Studie auf. In den USA ist das HCI beteiligt.

Stand: 2015-10-04