Prof. Dr. Claus Kleber

Germany

Journalist, television presenter, presenter of ZDF news programme “heute-journal”

DAAD Scholarship 1984

Prof. Dr. Claus Kleber DAAD


“An interview with the president by Claus Kleber of ARD” – no other German journalist’s name was as closely associated with the United States as that of Claus Kleber, who has presented the ZDF news programme “heute-journal” since 2003 and was its managing editor until 2009.

If I’m good, then even in ten years’ time people still won’t know which party I vote for
Claus Kleber

When the man from Swabia arrived in Washington for his first two-year assignment as a correspondent in 1986 he had already had a taste of America: while he was a doctoral student at the University of Tübingen in 1984, the DAAD provided the lawyer Claus Kleber with a research grant for a stay in the United States. Actually, however, Kleber had “always” wanted to become a journalist – and switched to the job in 1985.

From 1986, the lawyer reported from the USA for ARD TV channels for 15 years. However, Claus Kleber never restricted his reporting to political topics alone. He told the Germans about the American way of life, about the impressions he gained from Florida to Alaska, his experiences with cowboys and Indians. His time as head of the ARD studio in London in 2002 was only a passing phase. “The ZDF’s offer was unbeatable,” says Kleber. Although he was quickly persuaded to take over as managing editor and presenter of “heute-journal” in 2003 – he has been chief presenter of the programme since 2009 – he still first had to convince his two daughters to move from London to Mainz.

The US fan is unhappy with the negative image that many Germans have of the Americans. However, he avoids his personal views when presenting programmes. Claus Kleber has received several awards for his work in journalism. In 2005 and 2009 he won the German Television Award for the best presenter of an information programme. In 2005 he was awarded the Corine Literature Prize for his non-fiction book Amerikas Kreuzzüge (America’s Crusades) and in 2010 the Hanns Joachim Friedrichs Prize for television journalism. Then, in 2013, he received the Golden Camera in the category Best Information – Bester Anchorman. Claus Kleber received the Bavarian Television Prize in 2015 jointly with author Angela Andersen for the two-part ZDF documentary Hunger! Durst!. Since 2015 he has taught as an honorary professor at the Institute of Media Studies at Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen.

Prof. Dr. Claus Kleber

Deutschland

Journalist, Fernsehmoderator, Moderator des ZDF-heute-journals

DAAD-Stipendium 1984

Prof. Dr. Claus Kleber DAAD


„An interview with the president by Claus Kleber of ARD“ – kein Name eines deutschen Journalisten war über viele Jahre so sehr mit den USA verbunden wie Claus Kleber – seit 2003 verbindet man ihn mit dem ZDF-„heute-journal“, das er moderiert und bis 2009 auch leitete.

Zum ersten Mal kam der gebürtige Schwabe 1986 für zwei Jahre als Korrespondent nach Washington – da hatte er schon amerikanische Luft geschnuppert: Im Rahmen seiner Promotion an der Universität Tübingen förderte der DAAD 1984 den damaligen Anwalt Claus Kleber mit einem Forschungsaufenthalt in den USA. Allerdings wollte Kleber eigentlich „schon immer“ Journalist werden – 1985 wechselte er das Fach.

Wenn ich gut bin, dann weiß auch in zehn Jahren noch niemand, welche Partei ich wähle.
Claus Kleber

Ab 1986 berichtete der Jurist 15 Jahre lang als Korrespondent für ARD-Anstalten aus den USA. Claus Kleber beschränkte sich aber keineswegs auf politische Themen. Er vermittelte dem deutschen Publikum die amerikanische Lebensweise: Seine Eindrücke von Florida bis Alaska, Erlebnisse mit Cowboys und Indianern. Die Leitung des Londoner ARD-Studios 2002 war nicht mehr als eine Zwischenstation: „Das Angebot des ZDF war nicht zu schlagen", sagt Kleber. Er selbst war 2003 zwar schnell überzeugt, Leitung und Moderation des „heute-journals" zu übernehmen – seit 2009 ist er dort Erster Moderator – seinen beiden Töchtern musste er einen Umzug von London nach Mainz anfangs allerdings erst schmackhaft machen.

Der USA-Fan hadert mit dem negativen Bild, das viele Deutsche sich von den Amerikanern machen. In seinen Moderationen hat seine eigene Meinung allerdings keinen Platz. Claus Kleber wurde für seine journalistische Arbeit mehrfach ausgezeichnet: In den Jahren 2005 und 2009 erhielt er den Deutschen Fernsehpreis für die beste Moderation einer Informationssendung; 2005 wurde ihm zudem der internationale Literaturpreis „Corine“ für das Buch „Amerikas Kreuzzüge – Was die Weltmacht treibt“ zuerkannt. 2010 wurde er mit dem Hanns-Joachim-Friedrichs-Preis für Fernsehjournalismus ausgezeichnet, 2013 bekam er die Goldene Kamera in der Kategorie „Beste Information – Bester Anchorman“ und 2015 erhielt Claus Kleber zusammen mit der Autorin Angela Andersen den Bayerischen Fernsehpreis für die zweiteilige ZDF-Dokumentation „Hunger! Durst!“. Seit 2015 lehrt er als Honorarprofessor am Institut für Medienwissenschaft der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen.

Stand: 2015-10-05