Prof. Dr. Claudia Lux

Germany

Librarian, Project Director of the Qatar National Library in Doha

DAAD Scholarship 1974–1976

Prof. Dr. Claudia Lux DAAD


She found her way into the world of libraries almost by chance. The Berlin State Library was looking for a qualified sinologist. Claudia Lux fitted the profile perfectly. While studying social sciences, Lux, who was born in Gladbeck in 1950, travelled to China for two years on a DAAD Scholarship. She attained her doctorate in sinology in 1985.

Access to information is not just about education, it’s also about democratic rights.
Claudia Lux

Claudia Lux enjoyed her work as a sinologist at the State Library and quickly climbed the career ladder. She became director of the Senate Library and in 1997 director-general of the Central and Regional Library Berlin (ZLB). The way she unified the two state libraries – in East and West – after the fall of the Berlin Wall is seen as one of her greatest successes. “You only get such a fantastic career opportunity once in your life,” she says today. Claudia Lux has also held an honorary professorship at the Institute of Library and Information Sciences, Humboldt-Universität Berlin, since 2006.

Parallel to her career, the mother of two has always played an active role in her profession’s committees and organisations. 2004 saw her become chair of the German Library Association. From 2007 to 2012, Lux was president of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA), which represents 1,500 associations in about 150 countries. In 2012, after 15 years as director-general of the Central and Regional Library Berlin, Claudia Lux sought a new challenge: she gave up her management role in Berlin and is now project director in charge of building up the Qatar National Library in the Emirate of Qatar. Lux’s goals remain the same: to impress upon politicians and the public the importance of libraries in the development of the information society.

She regards digitisation as the future, but also as a challenge – and not only in a technological sense. In the international debate she passionately voices her opposition to the threatening break-up of the world into users and non-users of modern digital media. People who have no access are disadvantaged, she says. This is why one of the responsibilities of libraries is to provide free access to digital information and assistance on how to use it. “This is not just about education,” says Claudia Lux, “it’s also about democratic rights.”

Sinology, which she became interested in through her studies of book painting, still fascinates her today. “I feel an attraction to Asia,” she says. “That’s where I learned to be patient and persistent. These are attributes that I really need in my various jobs.”

Prof. Dr. Claudia Lux

Deutschland

Bibliothekarin, Project Director der Nationalbibliothek Katars in Doha

DAAD-Stipendium 1974–1976

Prof. Dr. Claudia Lux DAAD


Der Einstieg in das Bibliothekswesen geschah eher zufällig. Die Staatsbibliothek in Berlin suchte eine ausgewiesene Sinologin. Damit konnte Claudia Lux dienen. Während des Studiums der Sozialwissenschaften reiste die 1950 in Gladbeck Geborene mit einem DAAD-Stipendium für zwei Jahre nach China. 1985 promovierte sie in Bochum im Fach Sinologie.

Beim Zugang zu Informationen geht es nicht nur um Bildung, sondern auch um demokratische Rechte.
Claudia Lux

An der Arbeit als Sinologin in der Staatsbibliothek fand Claudia Lux Gefallen. Rasch stieg sie die Karriereleiter hinauf. Sie wurde Direktorin der Senatsbibliothek und 1997 Generaldirektorin der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB). Die Vereinigung der beiden Staatsbibliotheken aus Ost und West nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer zählt sie zu ihren größten Erfolgen. „Eine solche fantastische berufliche Chance bekommt man im Leben nur einmal“, sagt sie heute. Zudem ist Claudia Lux seit 2006 Honorarprofessorin am Institut für Bibliotheks- und Informationswissenschaften der Berliner Humboldt-Universität.

Parallel zu ihrer beruflichen Karriere hat sich die Mutter zweier Kinder stets in den Gremien ihres Berufsstandes engagiert. 2004 übernahm sie den Vorsitz des Deutschen Bibliotheksverbandes. Von 2007 bis 2012 war Lux Präsidentin des Weltverbandes der Bibliotheken (IFLA), dem 1500 Verbände aus rund 150 Ländern angehören. Nach 15 Jahren Tätigkeit als Generaldirektorin der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin suchte sich Claudia Lux im April 2012 eine neue Herausforderung: Sie gab ihre Leitungstätigkeit in Berlin auf und leitet nun als „Project Director“ den Aufbau der Qatar National Library im Emirat Katar. Lux Ziele bleiben indessen die gleichen: Politik und Öffentlichkeit zu vermitteln, welche Rolle Bibliotheken bei der Entwicklung der Informationsgesellschaft spielen.

In der Digitalisierung sieht sie die Zukunft, aber auch eine Herausforderung – und das nicht nur in technischer Hinsicht. Mit Verve wendet sie sich im internationalen Austausch gegen den drohenden Zerfall der Welt in Nutzer und Nicht-Nutzer moderner digitaler Medien. Wer keinen Zugang habe, sei diskriminiert. Es gehöre deshalb zu den Aufgaben der Bibliotheken, den Zugang zu digitalen Informationen kostenlos zur Verfügung zu stellen und Hilfestellung beim Umgang zu leisten. „Dabei geht es nicht nur um Bildung, sondern auch um demokratische Rechte“, sagt Claudia Lux. Die Sinologie, zu der sie über Studien der Buchmalerei gekommen war, fasziniert sie bis heute. „Ich fühle mich zu Asien hingezogen“, sagt Lux. „Ich habe dort auch Geduld und Hartnäckigkeit gelernt. Das sind Eigenschaften, die ich bei meinen verschiedenen Aufgaben gut gebrauchen kann.“

Stand: 2015-10-04