Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert

Germany

Economist

DAAD Doctoral Scholarship 1998

Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert DAAD


“The fossil resource oil will only cover the world’s total energy demand for another 15 years.” Claudia Kemfert has earned a reputation for gloomy predictions like this in Germany. She has strongly defended her theses in public since 2004, when she was appointed head of the Department of Energy, Transport and the Environment at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW) and assumed the Chair of Environmental Economics at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, where she worked until 2009. Since then she has also been professor for energy economics and sustainability at the Hertie School of Governance and become one of the most sought-after contacts for the media when it comes to questions of energy research and climate protection.

Researchers need to speak up. That happens too seldom in Germany.
Claudia Kemfert

Kemfert studied economics at the universities of Bielefeld and Oldenburg, and completed her PhD at Stanford University in 1998 with a DAAD Scholarship. The time she spent there set the course of her subsequent career. At Stanford, Professor Alan Manne developed computer-based quantitative models to evaluate the economic effects of oil scarcity and climate change. “That was so exciting that I was totally gripped by it,” Kemfert says.

When she took on the professorship in Berlin in 2004, Kemfert was the first female junior professor in Germany to be appointed to a highly paid C4 chair. In 2006, when Germany hosted the FIFA World Cup, the popular German science magazine Bild der Wissenschaft joined forces with the German Research Foundation, the Leibniz Association and other institutions to select Germany’s “Science Team” – eleven top German researchers under the age of 40. Kemfert made the team. In 2011, she was honoured with the B.A.U.M. environmental prize in category Science.

The energy economist is relaxed about her popularity, and sees public relations as part of her work. She doesn’t want just to sit in an ivory tower and think up models: she also wants to discuss her findings publicly. “Unfortunately, there are few media formats that permit deep, serious dissemination of information. And that discourages researchers,” Kemfert says. Nonetheless, they must not leave the shaping of public opinion to journalists, politicians or – in the worst case – self-appointed experts. “We need to speak up. That happens too seldom in Germany.”

That is another thing she learned in the United States: “It’s normal there for renowned experts to be called in as government advisors, and then to speak out publicly.” Kemfert was therefore happy to accept when the then president of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso, appointed her as an advisor. Claudia Kemfert is active in advisory councils of the European Commission as well as various research institutions and federal and state ministries.

Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert

Deutschland

Ökonomin

DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1998

Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert DAAD


„Die fossile Ressource Öl wird nur noch 15 Jahre zur Verfügung stehen, um die gesamte Energienachfrage der Welt zu decken.“ Mit düsteren Prognosen wie dieser hat sich Claudia Kemfert in Deutschland einen Namen gemacht. Seit sie 2004 die Abteilung „Energie, Verkehr, Umwelt“ am Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung und einen Lehrstuhl für Umweltökonomie an der Berliner Humboldt-Universität (bis 2009) übernahm, vertritt sie ihre Thesen offensiv in der Öffentlichkeit. Seit 2009 ist sie außerdem Professorin für Energieökonomie und Nachhaltigkeit an der Hertie School of Governance und für die Medien eine der gefragtesten Ansprechpartnerinnen zu Energieforschung und  Klimaschutz.

Wissenschaftler müssen sich aktiv zu Wort melden – das geschieht derzeit in Deutschland zu wenig.
Claudia Kemfert

Claudia Kemfert studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an den Universitäten Bielefeld und Oldenburg und promovierte mit einem DAAD-Stipendium 1998 in Stanford. Die Zeit dort war prägend für ihre Karriere. In Stanford entwickelte Professor Alan Manne computerunterstützte quantitative Modelle zur Bewertung wirtschaftlicher Auswirkungen von Ölknappheit und Klimawandel. „Das war so spannend, dass es mich nicht mehr losgelassen hat“, sagt sie.

Als sie 2004 den Lehrstuhl in Berlin übernahm, war sie die erste deutsche Juniorprofessorin, die auf eine hoch dotierte C4-Professur berufen wurde. Im Fußballjahr 2006 suchte die Zeitschrift „Bild der Wissenschaft“ gemeinsam mit der DFG, der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und anderen Einrichtungen die „Elf der Wissenschaft“, elf deutsche Spitzenforscher/innen unter 40. Kemfert war eine von ihnen. 2011 wurde sie mit dem B.A.U.M.-Umweltpreis in der Kategorie Wissenschaft ausgezeichnet.

Mit ihrer Popularität geht die Energieökonomin gelassen um. Öffentlichkeitsarbeit sieht sie als Teil ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit. Sie will nicht nur in einem Elfenbeinturm sitzen und Modelle konzipieren, sondern auch ihre Ergebnisse öffentlich diskutieren. „Leider gibt es nur wenige Medienformate, die eine tiefe und ernsthafte Informationsverbreitung ermöglichen – das schreckt Wissenschaftler ab“, sagt sie. Dennoch dürften diese die öffentliche Meinungsbildung nicht nur Journalisten, Politikern oder – was am schlimmsten sei – selbsternannten Experten überlassen. „Wir müssen uns aktiv zu Wort melden – das geschieht derzeit in Deutschland zu wenig.“

Auch das hat sie in den USA gelernt: „Dort ist es normal, dass renommierte Experten in Beraterkreise der Regierung einberufen werden und sich dann auch öffentlich äußern.“ Kemfert nahm deshalb gerne an, als der damalige EU-Kommissionspräsident José Manuel Barroso sie als Beraterin berief. Claudia Kemfert ist in Beiräten der EU-Kommission sowie verschiedener Forschungsinstitutionen und Bundes- und Landesministerien tätig.

Stand: 2015-10-04