Christian Hawkey

United States of America

Lyricist

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2008, Picador Guest Professorship for Literature 2010

Christian Hawkey DAAD


The prize-winning New York lyricist Christian Hawkey is repeatedly drawn to Berlin. No wonder: he is married to the Berlin poet Uljana Wolf, whom he met in 2008 at a poetry festival in Slovenia. Ever since, Berlin has been his “second home”.

Berlin is the second central focus of my life.
Christian Hawkey

The German-American poetry-writing couple are also closely linked through their work. They each translate their partner’s work into their own language and publish jointly. For example, Hawkey’s first volume of poems appeared in German as early as 2008, largely translated by his wife. Entitled Travelling at the Speed of Goats, it was published in a bilingual edition by KOOKbooks Verlag Berlin. Hawkey completed the book project during a stay as a guest of the DAAD’s Artist- in-Berlin programme.

Hawkey’s poems have been published in leading magazines and anthologies in the United States and Europe. They transport the readers into imaginary worlds that nevertheless have a solid grounding in reality. He links together very different topics, images and emotions and is a master in playing with the medium of language. His volumes of poetry – including The Book of Funnels (2004), Citizen O (2007) and Ventrakl (2010) – have brought him enthusiastic reviews and some major American literary prizes, such as the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and the Creative Capital Innovative Literature Award. In 2013, Hawkey and Wolf co-authored a book entitled Sonne from Ort, published by KOOKbooks Verlag Berlin.

Hawkey has been Professor of Literature and Creative Writing at the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, since 2004. This is his day job, he says, poetry comes second. In 2010, he taught in Leipzig as a Picador Guest Professor for Literature – a guest professorship that was established in 2006 at the Institute for American Studies in cooperation with the DAAD.

Hawkey was born in 1969, grew up on Pine Island in Florida, and studied on both the East and West Coast of America. He completed his studies in creative writing at the University of Massachusetts, where he co-founded the U.S. literary journal Jubilat in 2000.

Christian Hawkey

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Lyriker

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2008, Picador-Gastprofessur für Literatur 2010

Christian Hawkey DAAD


Den preisgekrönten New Yorker Lyriker Christian Hawkey zieht es immer wieder nach Berlin. Kein Wunder – ist er doch mit der Berliner Dichterin Uljana Wolf verheiratet, die er 2008 bei einem Lyrikfestival in Slowenien kennenlernte. Seitdem ist Berlin sein „zweiter Lebensmittelpunkt“.

Berlin ist mein zweiter Lebensmittelpunkt.
Christian Hawkey

Das deutsch-amerikanische Dichterpaar ist auch durch die Arbeit eng verbunden: Sie übertragen jeweils die Werke des anderen in die eigene Sprache und veröffentlichen gemeinsam. So erschien noch 2008 Hawkeys erster Gedichtband in deutscher Sprache, zum großen Teil übersetzt von seiner Frau: „Reisen in Ziegengeschwindigkeit“, deutsch-englisch, im KOOKbooks Verlag Berlin 2008. Das Buchprojekt vollendete Hawkey während seines Berlin-Aufenthalts als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Hawkeys Gedichte erschienen in den wichtigsten Zeitschriften und Anthologien der USA und in Europa. Sie entführen die Leser in imaginäre Welten, die gleichwohl in der Realität verhaftet sind. Er verknüpft assoziativ sehr verschiedene Themen, Bilder und Emotionen und spielt meisterhaft mit dem Medium Sprache. Für seine Lyrikbände – darunter „The Book of Funnels“ (2004), „Citizen O“ (2007),  „Ventrakl" (2010) – erhielt er begeisterte Kritiken und einige wichtige amerikanische Literaturpreise, wie zum Beispiel den Kate Tufts Discovery Award und den Creative Capital Innovative Literature Award. 2013 legten Hawkey und Wolf im KOOKbooks Verlag Berlin ein gemeinsames Buch vor, „Sonne from Ort“.

Hawkey ist seit 2004 Professor für Literatur und Creative Writing am Pratt-Institut in Brooklyn, New York. Dies sei sein Hauptberuf, das Dichten komme erst an zweiter Stelle, sagt er. 2010 lehrte er in Leipzig als Picador-Gastprofessor für Literatur – eine Gastprofessur, die 2006 unter Mitarbeit des DAAD am Institut für Amerikastudien eingerichtet wurde.

Hawkey wurde 1969 geboren, wuchs auf Pine Island in Florida auf und studierte sowohl an der Ost- als auch an der Westküste der USA. Sein Studium im Fach Creative Writing schloss er an der University of Massachussetts ab. Dort war er im Jahr 2000 Mitbegründer der amerikanischen Literaturzeitschrift „Jubilat“.

Stand: 2015-09-07