Dr. Bryan Mark Rigg

United States of America

Historian, writer, Founder and President of RIGG Wealth Management

DAAD Scholarship 1996

Dr. Bryan Mark Rigg DAAD


It all began in a Berlin cinema in 1992. That was when the American history student, Bryan Mark Rigg, 20 years old at the time, saw the film Hitlerjunge Salomon (Europa, Europa). The film is about a Jewish boy who survives the Nazi period because he manages to serve in the German army. As Rigg left the cinema, an old man addressed him: "That is also my history." Deeply impressed by the film, it became a long night for Mark Rigg. The stranger told him his story as a Jewish soldier in the Hitler era.

The preoccupation with Jewish history in the Nazi era is also about researching my own family history.
Bryan Mark Rigg

This encounter didn't let go of Rigg again. Because this is where he rediscovered part of his own family history. During his stay in Germany, he researched Saxon archives to find out about his Jewish ancestors. His great grandmother had emigrated to America at the end of the 19th century, but her sister and their family – more than 20 relatives – were killed by the Nazis, two of the relatives, also Jews, served in the German army and fell in France.

Rigg had found his research topic. The historian wanted to know how Jews found their way into the Germany army, how they fared there and what they later thought about it. For his dissertation he interviewed more than 400 surviving German soldiers of Jewish origin, travelled to Germany and many other countries to do this, from Israel to Canada. He obtained the first addresses from the old man at the cinema. Those interviewed included German politicians like Helmut Schmidt and Egon Bahr.

Thousands of taped statements plus documents, letters and diaries collected by Rigg over the years – which he has meanwhile passed on to the Federal Military Archive in Freiburg – formed the basis for his more than 400-page book Hitler's Jewish Soldiers (University Press of Kansas 2002; German title "Hitlers Jüdische Soldaten" published by Verlag Ferdinand Schöningh 2003). It not only caused a stir among historians, but also in the media worldwide and won him the US Colby Award in 2003.

Rigg also dealt with the Holocaust in his second book Rescued from the Reich: How One of Hitler's Soldiers Saved the Lubavitcher Rebbe. In it, he describes the flight of Rabbi Yosef Schneesohn, the leader of the Lubavitch Movement, to the United States. American government officials cooperated with high-ranking Nazis at the time. Rigg's third book appeared in 2009. Once again he returned to the subject of Hitler's Jewish soldiers. He selected 20 of them and wrote their biographies.

As a protestant Christian, Rigg has also, besides his research work, been committed to church-led humanitarian education projects in Eastern European countries and in South Africa. He served as a volunteer in the Israeli army and now lives in the United States. He taught Holocaust, military history and religion at the American Military University in Manassas, Virginia, and the Southern Methodist University, Dallas. He left these positions in 2006 to work as a relationship manager at Credit Suisse. In 2008 he founded his own company, RIGG Wealth Management, LLC. Since then he has led the investment consultancy as its president.

Dr. Bryan Mark Rigg

USA/Vereinigte Staaten

Historiker, Schriftsteller, Gründer und Präsident der Firma RIGG Wealth Management

DAAD-Stipendium 1996

Dr. Bryan Mark Rigg DAAD


Es begann 1992 in einem Berliner Kino. Dort sah der damals 20-jährige amerikanische Geschichtsstudent Bryan Mark Rigg den Film „Hitlerjunge Salomon“. Der Film handelt von einem Juden, der die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus überlebt, weil es ihm gelingt, in der Wehrmacht zu dienen. Beim Hinausgehen aus dem Kino sprach ein alter Mann den jungen Amerikaner an: „Das ist auch meine eigene Geschichte.“ Für Mark Rigg, tief beeindruckt von dem Film, wurde es eine lange Nacht: Der Fremde erzählte ihm seine Geschichte als jüdischer Soldat in der Hitler-Zeit.

Die Beschäftigung mit jüdischer Geschichte in der Nazizeit bedeutet ein Stück Aufarbeitung meiner Familiengeschichte.
Bryan Mark Rigg

Die Begegnung ließ Rigg nicht mehr los. Denn hier fand er ein Stück seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte wieder. Während seines Aufenthalts in Deutschland forschte er in sächsischen Archiven über seine deutschen Vorfahren jüdischen Glaubens. Seine Urgroßmutter war Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts nach Amerika ausgewandert, aber ihre Schwester und deren Familie – mehr als 20 Angehörige – wurden von den Nationalsozialisten umgebracht, zwei der Verwandten, ebenfalls Juden, dienten in der Wehrmacht und fielen in Frankreich.

Rigg hatte sein Forschungsthema gefunden. Der Historiker wollte wissen, wie Juden in die Wehrmacht kamen, wie es ihnen dort erging und wie sie später darüber dachten. Für seine Dissertation befragte er mehr als 400 überlebende deutsche Soldaten jüdischer Herkunft, reiste dafür durch Deutschland und viele andere Länder, von Israel bis Kanada. Die ersten Adressen erhielt er von dem alten Mann aus dem Kino. Zu den Befragten gehörten auch deutsche Politiker wie Helmut Schmidt und Egon Bahr.

Tausende von Rigg über Jahre zusammengetragene Tonbanddokumente, Briefe und Tagebücher – die er inzwischen dem Bundes-Militärarchiv in Freiburg übergab – bildeten die Grundlage für sein mehr als 400 Seiten starkes Buch „Hitlers Jüdische Soldaten“ (University Press of Kansas 2002, deutsch: Verlag Ferdinand Schöningh 2003). Es erregte nicht nur unter Historikern Aufsehen, sondern in den Medien weltweit und wurde mit dem amerikanischen Colby Award 2003 ausgezeichnet.

Mit dem Holocaust befasste Rigg sich auch in seinem zweiten Buch „Rescued from the Reich: How One of Hitler's Soldiers Saved the Lubavitcher Rebbe“. Darin beschreibt er die Flucht von Rabbi Yosef Schneersohn, dem Oberhaupt der Lubawitsch-Bewegung, in die Vereinigten Staaten. Dafür kooperierten damals amerikanische Regierungsmitarbeiter mit hochrangigen Nazis. 2009 erschien Riggs drittes Buch, mit dem er wieder zu Hitlers jüdischen Soldaten zurückkehrt: Er wählte 20 von ihnen aus und erzählt ihre Biographien.

Rigg hat sich als evangelischer Christ neben seiner Forschungstätigkeit auch in kirchlich-humanitären Bildungsprojekten in osteuropäischen Ländern und Südafrika engagiert. Er hat als Freiwilliger in der israelischen Armee gedient und lebt heute in den USA. Er unterrichtete Holocaust, Militärgeschichte und Religion an der American Military University in Manassas, Virginia und der Southern Methodist University, Dallas. 2006 beendete er diese Tätigkeit und war zunächst als Relationship Manager bei Credit Suisse tätig. Im Jahr 2008 gründete er ein eigenes Unternehmen: die RIGG Wealth Management, LLC. Seitdem leitet er die Anlageberatungsfirma als Präsident.

Stand: 2015-09-10