Breyten Breytenbach

South Africa

Writer, painter

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1989, Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 1994

Breyten Breytenbach DAAD


Breyten Breytenbach is internationally known as one of South Africa's most important lyricists and the holder of several prizes for literature, but also as a painter whose works have been exhibited in Europe, the United States and Hong Kong, as well as in his home country. His active role in the anti-apartheid movement and his decades of commitment against racism and South Africa's Boer government are inextricably bound up with his artistic and, especially, literary work.

Those who ignore the humanness of others deny their own.
Breyten Breytenbach

Breyten Breytenbach was born in 1939 and comes from a well-situated Boer family in Bonnievale. In 1958 he began to study art and literature in Cape Town. One year later he went to Europe, resumed his studies in Paris in 1961 and became a founding member of the anti-apartheid organization Okhela. After marrying a French woman of Vietnamese origin in 1968, he was no longer allowed to enter South Africa. He nevertheless returned to his home country in 1975 with a false passport, was arrested and sentenced to nine years in prison for "terrorist" activities. International protests and negotiations at the highest government level eventually led to his being prematurely released from prison in 1982. And he was able to return to Paris, where he took the French nationality a year later.

Breytenbach initially wrote his novels and collections of poems that were stylistically influenced by French Surrealism in Afrikaans, then in English or French, and later in Afrikaans again – reflecting his life between worlds. His works that have been translated into German include, as testimony to his seven years in prison, the novel The True Confessions of an Albino Terrorist (Wahre Bekenntnisse eines Albino Terroristen) and his autobiography A Season in Paradise (Augenblicke im Paradies). His novel Return to Paradise (1992) was published in German in Frankfurt am Main in 1995 under the title Rückkehr ins Paradies. In this novel, Breytenbach describes and comes to terms with his encounter with the "new" South Africa, now ruled by ANC politicians. His last book to appear in German dates from 1999 and is called Mischlingsherz. Eine Rückkehr nach Afrika, an ambivalent stocktake with quiet tones.

Breytenbach lives in Europe, the United States and Africa. He teaches as a visiting professor at universities in New York and Cape Town and, since 1992, has been contributing to the creation of the Senegalese Gorée Institute, a cultural centre on the island of the same name located offshore from the capital Dakar. He often visits Germany as well, for example the Leipzig Book Fair and the International Literature Festival Berlin.

Breyten Breytenbach

Südafrika

Schriftsteller, Maler

Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1989, Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 1994

Breyten Breytenbach DAAD


International bekannt ist Breyten Breytenbach als einer der bedeutendsten Lyriker Südafrikas und Träger mehrerer Literaturpreise, aber auch als Maler, dessen Bilder in Europa, den USA und Hongkong ebenso ausgestellt wurden wie in seinem Heimatland. Untrennbar verbunden mit seinem künstlerischen, insbesondere seinem literarischen Schaffen sind seine aktive Rolle in der Anti-Apartheid-Bewegung und sein jahrzehntelanges Engagement gegen Rassismus und gegen die Buren-Regierung Südafrikas.

Wer das Menschsein eines anderen ignoriert, der verneint das eigene.
Breyten Breytenbach

Breyten Breytenbach wurde 1939 geboren und stammt aus einer gut situierten burischen Familie in Bonnievale. 1958 begann er, in Kapstadt Kunst und Literatur zu studieren. Ein Jahr später ging er nach Europa, nahm sein Studium 1961 in Paris wieder auf und wurde Gründungsmitglied der Anti-Apartheid-Organisation Okhela. Nachdem er 1968 eine Französin vietnamesischer Abstammung geheiratet hatte, durfte er nicht mehr nach Südafrika einreisen. Mit gefälschtem Pass kehrte er dennoch 1975 in seine Heimat zurück, wurde verhaftet und wegen „terroristischer“ Aktivitäten zu neun Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt. Internationale Proteste und Verhandlungen auf höchster Regierungsebene führten schließlich 1982 dazu, dass er vorzeitig aus der Haft entlassen wurde und nach Paris zurückkehren konnte, wo er ein Jahr später die französische Staatsbürgerschaft annahm.

Breytenbach hat seine stilistisch vom französischen Surrealismus beeinflussten Romane und Gedichtbände zunächst in Afrikaans geschrieben, dann in englischer oder französischer Sprache, später wieder in Afrikaans – Spiegel seines Lebens zwischen den Welten. Zu seinen ins Deutsche übersetzten Werken gehören, als Zeugnis seiner siebenjährigen Haftzeit, der Roman „Wahre Bekenntnisse eines Albino Terroristen“ und die Autobiographie „Augenblicke im Paradies“. Im Jahr 1995 erschien in Frankfurt/Main der Roman „Rückkehr ins Paradies“, in dem Breytenbach seine Begegnung mit dem „neuen“, von Politikern des ANC regierten, Südafrika schildert und verarbeitet. Aus dem Jahr 1999 stammt sein bislang letztes auf Deutsch erschienenes Buch „Mischlingsherz. Eine Rückkehr nach Afrika“, eine ambivalent ausfallende Bilanz der leisen Töne.

Breytenbach lebt in Europa, den USA und Afrika. Er lehrt in New York und Kapstadt als Gastprofessor an Universitäten und arbeitet seit 1992 mit an der Entstehung des senegalesischen Kulturzentrums Gorée auf der gleichnamigen Insel vor der Hauptstadt Dakar. Auch in Deutschland ist er häufig zu Gast, so zum Beispiel auf der Leipziger Buchmesse oder dem Internationalen Literaturfestival Berlin.

Stand: 2015-09-17