Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink

Germany

Legal scholar, writer

DAAD Scholarship 1974, Guest Professorship 1990

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink by Roger Eberhard [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Some of his books bear legal sounding titles like Vergangenheitsschuld und gegenwärtiges Recht or Grundrechte Staatsrecht. While others can also be called Die gordische Schleife (The Gordian Knot), Der Vorleser (The Reader) or Das Wochenende (The Weekend). Bernhard Schlink is not only a law professor, but also a successful novelist. "You don't only want to have just one life," he once said in an interview in response to a question on the significance of writing. In his novels he dares to undertake a concrete and critical analysis of topic of German history – and is very successful with this. 

Both the stay in Stanford and teaching at the Humboldt-Universität after the fall of the Berlin Wall were immensely enriching, stimulating experiences.
Bernhard Schlink

Bernhard Schlink was born as the son of a theology professor in Bielefeld in 1944 and grew up in Heidelberg. There, and later in Berlin, he studied law. During his studies he spent a year at Stanford University, California, with a DAAD Scholarship. "Both the stay in Stanford in 1974, which involved research on artificial intelligence in the theory and practice of law, and teaching as a lecturer at the Humboldt-Universität after the fall of the Berlin Wall were immensely enriching, stimulating experiences. They left their mark in scientific publications," says Bernhard Schlink.

The law graduate completed his doctorate at Heidelberg in 1975, followed six years later by his postdoctoral habilitation in Freiburg. He subsequently spent almost ten years teaching and researching as a law professor at the University of Bonn. Immediately after the fall of the Wall he came to the Humboldt-Universität Berlin as a DAAD visiting professor and eventually assumed the Chair of Public Law and Legal Philosophy there. The jurist also served as a judge at the Constitutional Court for the State of North-Rhine Westphalia in Münster from 1987 to 2005.

During a sabbatical in Aix-en-Provence in 1987, Schlink wrote his first detective novel together with his colleague and friend Walter Popp. Selbs Justiz (Self's Punishment) is the first part of a trilogy and tells the story of a retired public prosecutor and detective with a Nazi past. Further crime and detective stories followed. Die gordische Schleife won the 1989 Friedrich Glauser Prize, while Selbs Betrug (Self's Deception) won the 1993 German Crime Fiction Award. Schlink's most successful work, however, is Der Vorleser (The Reader) – his first novel outside the crime story genre. The book tells the story of a 15-year-old boy who falls in love with a woman 20 years his senior. As a law student, he sees her again at an Auschwitz trial and learns of her past as a concentration camp overseer. Bernhard Schlink won numerous international prizes for this novel. The book has been translated into 39 languages, was turned into a film, and became the first German title to top the New York Times bestseller list.

Schlink often takes up subjects of topical social interest. In 2008, for example, he published Das Wochenende (The Weekend: A Novel), which deals with a convicted terrorist who is pardoned after 23 years of imprisonment. Following his return to society, he has to answer the questions of his friends and his son. However, Schlink also continues to write about unusual relationships: Die Frau auf der Treppe (2014) tells the story of a famous female portrait and the relationships of three men to the woman on the picture.

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink

Deutschland

Jurist, Autor

DAAD-Stipendium 1974, Gastprofessur 1990

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink by Roger Eberhard [CC BY-SA 3.0] via Wikimedia Commons


Seine Bücher tragen Titel wie „Vergangenheitsschuld und gegenwärtiges Recht“ oder „Grundrechte. Staatsrecht“. Sie heißen aber auch „Die gordische Schleife“, „Der Vorleser“ und „Das Wochenende“. Bernhard Schlink ist nicht nur Professor für Rechtswissenschaften, sondern auch erfolgreicher Romanautor. „Man will nicht nur ein Leben haben“, hat er einmal in einem Interview auf die Frage nach der Bedeutung des Schreibens gesagt. In seinen Romanen wagt er sich an konkrete Auseinandersetzungen mit Themen der deutschen Geschichte heran – und ist damit überaus erfolgreich.

Sowohl der Aufenthalt in Stanford als auch die Lehrtätigkeit an der Humboldt-Universität nach der Wende waren ungemein bereichernde, anregende Erfahrungen.
Bernhard Schlink

Bernhard Schlink wurde 1944 in Bielefeld als Sohn eines Theologieprofessors geboren und wuchs in Heidelberg auf. Dort und später in Berlin studierte er Jura. Während des Studiums verbrachte er ein Jahr mit einem DAAD-Stipendium an der kalifornischen Stanford University. „Sowohl der Aufenthalt in Stanford 1974, bei dem es um Forschung zu Künstlicher Intelligenz in Rechtstheorie und -praxis ging, als auch die Lehrtätigkeit an der Humboldt-Universität nach der Wende waren ungemein bereichernde, anregende Erfahrungen. Sie haben ihren Niederschlag in wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen gefunden“, sagt Bernhard Schlink.

1975 promovierte der Jurist in Heidelberg, sechs Jahre später folgte die Habilitation in Freiburg. Danach lehrte und forschte er fast zehn Jahre lang als Juraprofessor an der Bonner Universität. Gleich nach der Wende kam er im Rahmen einer DAAD-Gastprofessur an die Berliner Humboldt-Universität und übernahm dort schließlich den Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht und Rechtsphilosophie. Der Rechtswissenschaftler war zudem von 1987 bis 2005 Richter am Verfassungsgerichtshof für das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen in Münster.

Während eines Freisemesters in Aix-en-Provence 1987 schrieb Schlink gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen und Freund Walter Popp seinen ersten Kriminalroman. „Selbs Justiz“ ist der erste Teil einer Trilogie und erzählt die Geschichte eines pensionierten Staatsanwalts und Detektivs mit braun gefärbter Vergangenheit. Es folgten weitere Krimis. „Die gordische Schleife“ wurde 1989 mit dem Autorenpreis Deutsche Kriminalliteratur und „Selbs Betrug“ 1993 mit dem Deutschen Krimipreis ausgezeichnet. Schlinks erfolgreichstes Werk aber ist „Der Vorleser“ – sein erster Roman außerhalb des Krimi-Genres. Das Buch erzählt die Geschichte eines 15-jährigen Jungen, der sich in eine 20 Jahre ältere Frau verliebt. Als Jurastudent sieht er sie im Auschwitz-Prozess wieder und erfährt von ihrer Vergangenheit als KZ-Aufseherin. Für diesen Roman bekam Bernhard Schlink zahlreiche internationale Preise; das Buch wurde in 39 Sprachen übersetzt, verfilmt und war der erste deutsche Titel, der auf Platz 1 der Bestsellerliste der New York Times landete.

Aktuelle gesellschaftliche Auseinandersetzungen greift Schlink immer wieder auf: 2008 erschien „Das Wochenende“. Der Roman handelt von einem verurteilten Terroristen, der nach 23 Jahren Haft begnadigt wird. Zurück in der Gesellschaft, muss er sich den Fragen seiner Freunde und seines Sohnes stellen. Doch auch besondere Beziehungskonstellationen bleiben Schlinks Thema: In „Die Frau auf der Treppe“ (2014) geht es um ein berühmtes weibliches Porträt und die Beziehung dreier Männer zu der Frau auf dem Bild.

Stand: 2015-10-04