Dr. Auma Obama

Kenya

Germanist, sociologist, Founder and Director of the Sauti Kuu Foundation

DAAD Scholarship 1980–1987, DAAD PhD Scholarship 1988–1990, DAAD PhD Scholarship 1993–1994

Dr. Auma Obama DAAD


Germany really influenced and impressed me, and that contributed to turning me into what I am.Auma Obama

When American Presidential Candidate Barack Obama came to Berlin on an official visit in July 2008, Germany's newspapers were full of reports on him. But the media interest also focused on his sister Auma Obama who had lived, studied and worked for 16 years in Germany. The siblings met shortly after the accidental death of their common father. That was when she visited him in the United States. A few years later, she travelled with him across Kenya in a VW Beetle, showing him the home of his ancestors. Since then, the two siblings have had a close relationship, Auma also campaigning for Barack Obama in the Democratic primaries.

Auma Obama was born in a Kenyan village in 1960 and already started learning German at the Goethe-Institut in Nairobi at the age of 17. In 1980, she came to study German at Heidelberg with a DAAD scholarship and graduated with a Magister Artium degree in 1987. In 1988, she began, once again funded by the DAAD, to do a doctorate at the University of Bayreuth, eventually gaining her doctoral degree there in 1996. She wrote her dissertation on the concept of work in German and Kenyan literature and culture.

As a student, she already gained practical experience of everyday life in Germany. She took on casual work at a hospital, a supermarket, and as an interpreter at fairs and exhibitions. In the late 1980s, she briefly worked in Kenya as a contract lecturer for German at the Goethe-Institut and the Carl Duisberg Society. Back in Germany, she held political seminars at the SPD-affiliated Friedrich Ebert-Foundation. In August 2008, Auma Obama told the German magazine Stern: “I very much enjoyed living in Germany. The country really influenced and impressed me, and that contributed to turning me into what I am.”

Auma Obama, who has one daughter, now lives in Kenya again, initially working for nearly five years as the East Africa Coordinator for the aid organisation Care. In 2010, she set up the Sauti Kuu Foundation which organises practice-oriented training courses designed to give a voice to disadvantaged children and young people all over the world and to unleash and strengthen their potential . Besides her work as Director of the Sauti Kuu Foundation, she is active on the board of the Jacobs Foundation, an organisation that also funds projects and research for the benefit of children and young people. Since November 2014, she has also been a member of the World Future Council (WFC).

Dr. Auma Obama

Kenia

Germanistin, Soziologin, Gründerin und Vorstandsvorsitzende der "Sauti Kuu Foundation"

DAAD-Stipendium 1980–1987, DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1988–1990, DAAD-Promotionsstipendium 1993–1994

Dr. Auma Obama DAAD


Deutschland hat mich sehr beeinflusst und beeindruckt, und es hat dazu beigetragen, mich zu dem zu machen, was ich bin.
Auma Obama

Als der amerikanische Präsidentschaftskandidat Barack Obama im Juli 2008 zu einem offiziellen Besuch nach Berlin kam, waren die deutschen Zeitungen voll von Berichten über ihn. Das Medieninteresse richtete sich gleichzeitig auf seine Schwester Auma Obama, die 16 Jahre in Deutschland gelebt, studiert und gearbeitet hatte. Kennengelernt hatten sich die Geschwister kurz nach dem Unfalltod des gemeinsamen Vaters. Damals besuchte sie ihn in den USA. Einige Jahre später fuhr sie mit ihm in einem VW Käfer durch Kenia und zeigte ihm die Heimat seiner Vorfahren. Seitdem sind die beiden Geschwister eng miteinander verbunden. So trat Auma auch im Nominierungswahlkampf der Demokraten für Barack Obama auf.

Auma Obama, 1960 in einem kenianischen Dorf geboren, lernte bereits mit 17 die deutsche Sprache im Goethe-Institut in Nairobi. 1980 kam sie als DAAD-Stipendiatin zum Deutsch-Studium nach Heidelberg, das sie 1987 mit dem Magister Artium abschloss. 1988 begann sie, wiederum vom DAAD gefördert, eine Promotion an der Universität Bayreuth und erwarb dort 1996 den Doktortitel. Die Auffassung von Arbeit in der deutschen und kenianischen Literatur und Kultur war das Thema ihrer Dissertation.

Mit dem deutschen Arbeitsalltag machte sie bereits als Studentin praktische Erfahrungen: Sie jobbte im Krankenhaus, im Supermarkt und als Dolmetscherin auf Messen. Ende der achtziger Jahre war sie kurze Zeit in Nairobi als Lehrbeauftragte für Deutsch am Goethe-Institut und für die Carl Duisberg-Gesellschaft tätig. Zurück in Deutschland, hielt sie politische Seminare in der SPD-nahen Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung ab. Im August 2008 sagte Auma Obama dem Magazin „Stern“: „Ich habe sehr gern in Deutschland gelebt. Das Land hat mich sehr beeinflusst und beeindruckt, und es hat dazu beigetragen, mich zu dem zu machen, was ich bin.“

Heute lebt Auma Obama wieder in Kenia. Die Mutter einer Tochter arbeitete zunächst für knapp fünf Jahre als Ostafrika-Koordinatorin der Hilfsorganisation Care. 2010 gründete sie die „Sauti Kuu Foundation“, die benachteiligten Kindern und Jugendlichen auf der ganzen Welt mit praxisnahen Schulungen eine Stimme geben und ihr Potential wecken und stärken möchte. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Vorsitzende der „Sauti Kuu Foundation“ engagiert sie sich im Vorstand der Jacobs Stiftung, einer Organisation die ebenso Projekte und Forschungen im Bereich der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe finanziert. Weiterhin ist sie seit November 2014 Mitglied des World Future Council (WFC).

Stand: 2015-07-28