Prof. Dr. Ashraf Mansour

Egypt

Polymer physicist, founder of the German University in Cairo (GUC)

DAAD Scholarship 1988–1992

Prof. Dr. Ashraf Mansour DAAD


The founder of the German University in Cairo (GUC), Professor Ashraf Mansour, is absolutely clear about what the university, set up in line with the German model in 2003, aims to achieve: "Research and teaching go hand in hand here. Students learn analytical thinking and problem solving. We need people like these so that we can drive forward the development process in our country." The Egyptian DAAD scholarship holder completed his doctorate in polymer physics in 1992 at the University of Ulm, where he later also received his habilitation, his postdoctoral professorial qualification. "On my return to Cairo, I would ideally have liked to have taken the University of Ulm with me," says the scientist. The atmosphere in his doctoral supervisor's research group was extraordinarily inspiring. "The intensive exchange of information between the 40 scientists and the way in which research methods and experiments were very closely linked with theoretical models really impressed me."

When I returned to Cairo, I would ideally have liked to have taken the University of Ulm with me.
Ashraf Mansour

The GUC was opened outside the gates of Cairo in 2003. In order to transform his idea into reality, Mansour had not only ensured the construction of an entirely new technological university in New Cairo and raised around 15 million euros from Egyptian sponsors, but also enlisted the academic support of the universities of Stuttgart and Ulm. They brought along their German curricula and provided technical assistance in building and setting up the labs. The DAAD funded the project with around 600,000 euros as part of its Export of German Degree Courses programme. The DAAD and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation are also supporting numerous study and research stays by students, scholars and researchers from the GUC.

Today the GUC has roughly 10,000 students in the fields of engineering, applied natural sciences and technologically oriented management. In 2011 the GUC opened an office in Berlin, and since 2012 it has maintained a Berlin campus to promote academic exchange. In 2008 Ashraf Mansour received the Federal Cross of Merit. He is now responsible for the future course of the GUC as Chairman of the Board of Trustees and is honorary senator of the University of Ulm.

Prof. Dr. Ashraf Mansour

Ägypten

Polymerphysiker, Gründer der German University in Cairo (GUC)

DAAD-Stipendium 1988–1992

Prof. Dr. Ashraf Mansour DAAD


Der Gründer der German University in Cairo (GUC), Professor Ashraf Mansour, hat eine klare Vorstellung davon, was die 2003 gegründete Universität nach deutschem Vorbild in Ägypten leisten soll: „Forschung und Lehre gehen hier Hand in Hand. Die Studierenden lernen, analytisch zu denken und Probleme zu lösen. Solche Leute brauchen wir, um die Entwicklung in unserem Land voranzubringen.“ Als DAAD-Stipendiat promovierte der Ägypter 1992 in Ulm im Fach Polymerphysik und wurde später dort auch habilitiert. „Bei meiner Rückkehr nach Kairo hätte ich am liebsten die Universität Ulm mitgenommen“, sagt der Wissenschaftler. Die Atmosphäre in der Arbeitsgruppe seines Doktorvaters sei außergewöhnlich inspirierend gewesen. „Ich war beeindruckt von dem engen Informationsaustausch unter den 40 Wissenschaftlern und der wissenschaftlichen Methode, Experimente mit theoretischen Modellen ganz eng zu verzahnen.“

Bei meiner Rückkehr nach Kairo hätte ich die Universität Ulm am liebsten mitgenommen.
Ashraf Mansour

2003 wurde die GUC vor den Toren Kairos eröffnet. Mansour hatte bei der Gründung nicht nur für den Neubau der technisch ausgerichteten Universität in Neu-Kairo gesorgt und bei ägyptischen Sponsoren rund 15 Millionen Euro akquiriert. Um seine Idee zu verwirklichen, hatte er sich auch der wissenschaftlichen Unterstützung der Universitäten Stuttgart und Ulm versichert. Sie brachten deutsche Lehrpläne mit und leisteten technische Hilfestellung beim Aufbau der Labors. Der DAAD förderte das Projekt im Programm „Export deutscher Studienangebote“ mit rund 600.000 Euro. Der DAAD und die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung unterstützen zudem zahlreiche Studien- und Forschungsaufenthalte für Studierende und Wissenschaftler der GUC.

2011 eröffnete die GUC – an der heute rund 10.000 Studierende den Feldern Ingenieurwissenschaften, angewandte Naturwissenschaften und technisch orientiertes Management eingeschrieben sind – ein Büro in Berlin und unterhält seit 2012 einen Berlin-Campus, um den akademischen Austausch voranzutreiben. Ashraf Mansour erhielt 2008 das Bundesverdienstkreuz. Er lenkt bis heute die Geschicke der GUC als Vorsitzender im Kuratorium und ist Ehrensenator der Universität Ulm.

Stand 2015-09-15