Prof. Dr. Anna Benaki-Psarouda

Greece

Politician, Lawyer, emerita Professor of criminal law at the University of Athens, former President of the Greek Parliament 2004–2007

DAAD Scholarship 1957–1960

Prof. Dr. Anna Benaki-Psarouda Anna Benaki


Born in 1934, Anna Benaki-Psarouda is one of the most senior and high-profile DAAD scholarship holders and has become something of a historical authority. She is a former member of the Greek parliament, was Greek Minister of Culture (1991–1992) and Justice (1992–1993) and the first female President of the Greek Parliament (2004–2007). Her approximately 30-year political career is actually her second one. Her first career began some twenty years earlier, in 1961, when she completed her PhD in law in the former German capital Bonn. The postgraduate student and DAAD scholarship holder wrote her dissertation in German on “Offenders and Accomplices According to German and Greek Criminal Law”. This study in comparative law helped pave the way for the legal harmonisation later required by the European Union. Greece joined the European Union in 1981.

The 19th century was an important period in German-Greek history.
Anna Benaki-Psasrouda

After receiving her PhD, Benaki initially worked as a lawyer and lecturer at the University of Athens. After the fall of the Greek military junta in 1974, she also advised the Ministries of Justice and Education in the second half of the 1970s. From 1978 until she was awarded emerita status, Benaki worked as Professor of criminal law at the University of Athens. Since 2010, she has been a full member of the Academy of Sciences in Athens.

Up to the end of the 1980s, she returned another eight times to Germany for stays lasting a few months, either visiting her alma mater in Bonn or the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law in Freiburg. Each trip was funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Her official parliamentary website also had a German-language version – quite a rarity among MPs.

When it comes to the eventful German-Greek history, Benaki points particularly to the reign of Otto I. The Greek King reigned from 1832 to 1863 and was a member of the Wittelsbach dynasty in Bavaria. “This was a very important period in our history,” says Benaki. “It’s thanks to this dynasty and the German advisors that Greece made the transformation into a modern state.” Since then, the higher education system is only one example of Germany’s lasting influence on Greece.

The DAAD counts a total of more than two thousand alumni in Greece, with legal professionals traditionally making up the largest group. Anna Benaki is the most prominent alumna.

Prof. Dr. Anna Benaki-Psarouda

Griechenland

Politikerin, Juristin, Professorin emerita für Strafrecht an der Universität Athen, ehemalige Präsidentin des Griechischen Parlaments 2004–2007

DAAD-Stipendium 1957–1960

Prof. Dr. Anna Benaki-Psarouda Anna Benaki


Die 1934 geborene Anna Benaki-Psarouda ist fast schon ein historisches Denkmal im Kreis der DAAD-Stipendiaten: ehemalige Abgeordnete im griechischen Parlament, zeitweilige Kultus- und Justizministerin (1991–1992, 1992–1993) und erste Frau im Amt des griechischen Parlamentspräsidenten (2004–2007). Die rund 30 Jahre währende politische Karriere ist eigentlich ihre zweite. Die erste begann zwanzig Jahre zuvor, 1961, mit der juristischen Doktorprüfung in der damaligen deutschen Bundeshauptstadt Bonn. Die Postgraduate-Studentin und DAAD-Stipendiatin wurde mit einer auf Deutsch geschriebenen Dissertation über „Täterschaft und Teilnahme nach deutschem und griechischem Strafrecht“ promoviert. Dieser Rechtsvergleich war ein Vorläufer der in der Europäischen Union erforderlichen Rechtsharmonisierung. Griechenland ist seit 1981 Mitglied der Gemeinschaft.

Das 19. Jahrhundert war eine wichtige Periode in der deutsch-griechischen Geschichte.
Anna Benaki-Psarouda

Nach der Promotion war Benaki zunächst als Anwältin und Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität Athen tätig. Nach dem Sturz des Obristenregimes 1974 beriet sie in der zweiten Hälfte der 1970er-Jahre auch das Justiz- und das Bildungsministerium. Von 1978 bis zu ihrer Emeritierung arbeitete Benaki als Professorin für Strafrecht an der Universität Athen. Seit dem Jahr 2010 ist sie ordentliches Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften Athen.

Bis Ende der 1980er-Jahre kam die Wissenschaftlerin noch acht Mal für jeweils einige Monate als Stipendiatin der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung nach Deutschland, an ihre Alma Mater in Bonn und an das Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales Strafrecht in Freiburg. Ihre offizielle Parlamentswebsite hatte – eine Seltenheit unter den Abgeordneten – auch eine deutsche Sprachversion.

Aus der wechselvollen deutsch-griechischen Geschichte hebt Benaki besonders das Regiment Ottos I. hervor. Der griechische König regierte 1832 bis 1863 und war ein Wittelsbacher aus Bayern. „Das war eine sehr wichtige Periode unserer Geschichte“, so Benaki. „Wir verdanken ihr und den Beratern aus Deutschland die Transformation Griechenlands zu einem modernen Staat.“ Seither ist nicht zuletzt das höhere Bildungswesen von deutschem Einfluss mitgeprägt.

Insgesamt zählt der DAAD mehr als zweitausend ehemalige Stipendiaten in Griechenland, die Juristen bilden traditionell die größte Gruppe. Anna Benaki ist die prominenteste Alumna.

Stand: 2015-09-11