Prof. Dr. Angelo Bolaffi

Italy

Philosopher, political scientist, former Director of the Italian Cultural Institute in Berlin

DAAD Scholarship 1971-1972

Prof. Dr. Angelo Bolaffi DAAD


The philosopher and political scientist Angelo Bolaffi, emeritus Professor at La Sapienza University in Rome, has been an ambassador of German culture in his home country for some 30 years. Born in 1946, Bolaffi recalls his first experience with Germany as a young DAAD scholarship holder at Freie Universität Berlin in 1971. Two years later, he received a research fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. “My studies in Germany had a decisive influence on my academic career and my intellectual development,” Bolaffi says today.

I want to present an image of Italy that is free of all prejudices and all conventional, simplistic readings.
Angelo Bolaffi

In his early years in Berlin, he was already interested in German thinkers, particularly Ferdinand Tönnies, Carl Schmitt, Otto Kirchheimer and Ernst Cassirer. He brought them to the attention of Italian readers as an editor and translator, and soon became one of Italy’s most distinguished experts on Germany.

Later, Angelo Bolaffi shifted his perspective: from 2007 to 2011, he headed the Italian Cultural Institute in Berlin. Once the unofficial ambassador of German culture in Italy, he is now an official ambassador of Italian culture in Germany. Bolaffi’s work had a special focus, and he described his aim at the time in these terms: “The Germans’ traditional penchant for Italian Classicism and the Renaissance is well established. That’s why I now want try and draw people’s attention to aspects of Italian art and culture that are often underestimated, especially in the literature, painting and architecture of the 19th and 20th centuries.” Henceforth, visitors to the Italian Embassy in Berlin’s Tiergarten district, where the Cultural Institute is also located, were able to admire the works of poets such as Giovanni Pascoli and painters like Giovanni Fattori.

It has always been Angelo Bolaffi’s wish “to present an image of Italy that is free of all prejudices and all conventional, simplistic readings.” Bolaffi complains that Italy is often represented simplistically and superficially in the German media. “Italy is often a worse country than it’s made out to be. But more often, it’s a better one.” Angelo Bolaffi is known for his original, sometimes provocative phraseology. His book Die schrecklichen Deutschen: eine merkwürdige Liebeserklärung (The Terrible Germans: A Strange Declaration of Love), was published in 1995. And he has remained loyal to Germany. In 2014, he co-authored the book Deutsches Herz. Das Modell Deutschland und die europäische Krise (German Heart: The German Model and the European Crisis) with two German women writers.

Prof. Dr. Angelo Bolaffi

Italien

Philosoph, Politologe, ehemaliger Direktor des Italienisches Kulturinstitutes in Berlin

DAAD-Stipendium 1971-1972

Prof. Dr. Angelo Bolaffi DAAD


In seinem Land gilt der Philosoph und Politologe Angelo Bolaffi, Professor emeritus der Universität La Sapienza in Rom, seit rund 30 Jahren als Botschafter der deutschen Kultur. Erste Erfahrungen mit Deutschland machte der Italiener, Jahrgang 1946, als junger DAAD-Stipendiat 1971 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Zwei Jahre später erhielt er ein Forschungsstipendium der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. „Mein Studienaufenthalt in Deutschland hat meine akademische Laufbahn und meine geistige Entwicklung entscheidend beeinflusst“, sagt Angelo Bolaffi heute.

Ich möchte ein Italien-Bild abseits jedes Vorurteils und von jeder traditionsgebundenen schematischen Lektüre präsentieren.
Angelo Bolaffi

Sein besonderes Interesse galt schon zu Beginn seiner Berliner Zeit deutschen Denkern wie Ferdinand Tönnies, Carl Schmitt, Otto Kirchheimer und Ernst Cassirer. Diese brachte er als Herausgeber und Übersetzer dem italienischen Publikum nahe und avancierte zu einem der profiliertesten Deutschlandkenner seines Landes.

Später hat Angelo Bolaffi die Perspektive gewechselt: Von 2007 bis 2011 leitete er das Italienische Kulturinstitut in Berlin. Aus dem inoffiziellen Botschafter deutscher Kultur in Italien wurde ein offizieller Botschafter italienischer Kultur in Deutschland. Dabei setzte Angelo Bolaffi besondere Akzente, sein Ziel damals: „Die traditionelle Neigung der Deutschen für den italienischen Klassizismus und die Renaissance ist gefestigt, darum will ich nun versuchen, das Publikum auf oft unterschätzte Aspekte der italienischen Kunst und Kultur, insbesondere des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, in der Literatur, Malerei und Architektur aufmerksam zu machen.“ In der Italienischen Botschaft im Berliner Tiergarten, wo auch das Kulturinstitut residiert, konnte man daraufhin Werke von Dichtern wie Giovanni Pascoli oder von Malern wie Giovanni Fattori bewundern.

Angelo Bolaffis Wunsch war es stets, „ein Italien-Bild abseits jedes Vorurteils und von jeder traditionsgebundenen schematischen Lektüre zu präsentieren.“ In den deutschen Medien, so beklagt Angelo Bolaffi, werde Italien oft zu vereinfacht und schematisch dargestellt. „Italien ist nämlich oft ein schlechteres Land als man erzählt. Aber noch öfter ein besseres.“ Angelo Bolaffi gilt als Freund origineller, gelegentlich auch provozierender Formulierungen. 1995 erschien sein Buch „Die schrecklichen Deutschen. Eine merkwürdige Liebeserklärung“. Und er blieb Deutschland treu. 2014 veröffentlichte er gemeinsam mit zwei deutschen Autorinnen „Deutsches Herz, Das Modell Deutschland und die europäische Krise.“

Stand: 2015-09-11