Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Writer

Guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme 2009–2010

Amir Hassan  Cheheltan Jan Gruene/FS Medien


Amir Hassan Cheheltan was born in Tehran in 1956 and began writing stories at the age of 12. After leaving school, however, he chose not to embark on a career in literature, but rather began to study electrical engineering. He already published his first volume of stories in 1976, whilst still studying. The second collection of stories, Am stummen Fenster, which appeared just before the Islamic Revolution broke out in 1979 gave him his breakthrough as a writer.

I live in exile in my own country.
Amir Hassan Cheheltan

After completing his studies and graduating in Britain, he did his military service during the Iraq War from 1980 to 1988. Back in his home country, the author, who was generally regarded as a critic, repeatedly faced threats, attempts to intimidate him and bans on the publication of his works. He left Iran in spring 1999 and lived in Italy with his family for two years. That was where he produced his novel Teheran, Stadt ohne Himmel. The city plays an important role in his work, and he keeps on portraying it, time and time again. After returning home, he refused to accept the nomination for a state book prize in 2007: Cheheltan’s Iranische Dämmerung was selected as the year’s best novel, but the author refused the honour in a protest letter to the censorship authority because of the cuts and deletions. In September 2015, Kirchheim Verlag published the first complete edition of the novel authorised by the writer. "I live in exile in my own country," is how Cheheltan describes his situation. Meanwhile, having published several stories and novels, he is seen as one of his country's most important authors and has made a name for himself as a publisher in the international media. In October 2015, Der Kalligraph von Isfahan was published by Verlag C. H. Beck.

It was during his time as a guest of the DAAD Artists-in- Berlin Programme that he published the novel Teheran Revolutionsstrasse, initially in German. Whether the book will ever receive permission for publication in Iran is uncertain. The novel is about a young woman from Tehran who is loved by two men. Despite their biographical and personal contrasts – the two do have one thing in common: they are infamous torturers. But it is not the monsters or monstrosities, but rather the oppressive everyday life in Tehran that is the subject of the book. “The truth about a society can be recognised in literature,” says Cheheltan, clearly communicating his approach.

The book is not superficially against Islam or the rule of the Mullahs. But it does clearly show how a system that is not subject to public or democratic control has to fail. The book met with great interest in Germany – also because it clearly provided the social background to the political actions occurring in Iran. It is no wonder then that Cheheltan also became a much sought-after interpreter and analyst in the German media when it came to reports on the latest political events in his country. In April 2015, the author reported in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung on the level of oppression that Iranian writers suffer.

Although he is subject to political pressure and intimidation in his native country, Cheheltan lives and works in Iran. “Iran is not only my home,” he says, “but also the home of my language. And language is the primary tool of a writer. Furthermore, there is no other place in the world that could impress me as strongly as my home city of Tehran.”

Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Iran

Schriftsteller

Gast des Künstlerprogramms des DAAD 2009–2010

Amir Hassan  Cheheltan Jan Gruene/FS Medien


Mit zwölf Jahren begann der 1956 in Teheran geborene Amir Hassan Cheheltan, Geschichten zu schreiben. Nach dem Schulabschluss schlug er jedoch zunächst keine literarische Laufbahn ein, sondern studierte Elektrotechnik. Noch während des Studiums veröffentlichte er 1976 seinen ersten Erzählband. Der zweite Erzählband „Am stummen Fenster“, der kurz vor dem Ausbruch der Islamischen Revolution 1979 erschien, brachte den Durchbruch als Schriftsteller.

Ich lebe in meinem eigenen Land im Exil.
Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Nach dem Studium, das er in England abschloss, leistete er seinen Wehrdienst während des Irakkrieges 1980 bis 1988 ab. In seinem Heimatland erlebte der als kritisch geltende Autor immer wieder Bedrohungen, Einschüchterungsversuche und Publikationsverbote. Im Frühjahr 1999 verließ er den Iran und lebte mit seiner Familie zwei Jahre in Italien. Dort entstand der Roman „Teheran, Stadt ohne Himmel“. Die Stadt spielt eine wichtige Rolle in seinem Werk, immer wieder porträtiert er sie. Nach der Rückkehr in die Heimat wehrte er sich 2007 gegen die Nominierung für einen staatlichen Buchpreis: Cheheltans „Iranische Dämmerung“ wurde zum besten Roman des Jahres gekürt, doch der Autor lehnte in einem Protestschreiben an die Zensurbehörde wegen der Kürzungen und Streichungen die Auszeichnung ab. Im September 2015 publizierte der Kirchheim Verlag die erste vom Autor autorisierte vollständige Ausgabe des Romans. „Ich lebe in meinem eigenen Land im Exil“, beschreibt Cheheltan seine Situation. Nach mehreren Erzählbänden und Romanen gilt er als einer der wichtigsten Schriftsteller seines Landes und hat sich als Publizist in internationalen Medien einen Namen gemacht. Im Oktober 2015 erschien „Der Kalligraph von Isfahan“ im Verlag C. H. Beck.

Während seiner Zeit als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogrammes des DAAD publizierte er seinen Roman „Teheran Revolutionsstraße“ – zuerst auf Deutsch. Ob das Buch auch jemals im Iran erscheinen darf, ist ungewiss. Im Roman geht es um eine junge Frau aus Teheran, die von zwei Männern geliebt wird. Diese beiden Männer haben – bei aller biografischen und persönlichen Gegensätzlichkeit – eines gemeinsam: sie sind berüchtigte Folterer. Doch nicht Monstren und Monstrositäten, sondern der bedrückende Alltag in Teheran ist Gegenstand des Buches. „Die Wahrheit über eine Gesellschaft kann man in Literatur erkennen“, macht Cheheltan seinen Ansatz deutlich.

Das Buch richtet sich nicht vordergründig gegen den Islam oder die Herrschaft der Mullahs. Aber es macht deutlich, wie ein System, das keiner öffentlichen oder demokratischen Kontrolle unterliegt, scheitern muss. Das Buch stieß in Deutschland auf großes Interesse – auch weil es den sozialen Hintergrund für die politischen Vorgänge im Iran deutlich macht. Kein Wunder also, dass Cheheltan auch in den deutschen Medien zum gefragten Interpreten und Analytiker der aktuellen politischen Vorgänge in seinem Land wurde. In der „Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung“ berichtete der Autor im April 2015 über das Ausmaß der Unterdrückung, unter der iranische Schriftsteller leiden.

Obwohl er in seinem Heimatland politisch bedrängt und gefährdet wird, lebt und arbeitet Cheheltan im Iran. „Iran ist nicht nur meine Heimat“, sagte er, „sondern auch die Heimat meiner Sprache. Und die Sprache ist das Hauptwerkzeug des Schreibenden. Außerdem gibt es auf der ganzen Welt keinen anderen Ort, der mich so stark beeindruckt wie meine Heimatstadt Teheran.“

Stand: 2015-09-15