Prof. Dr. Amida Sholan

Yemen

Archaeologist, university teacher, Assistant Attaché for Cultural Affairs at the Embassy of Yemen in Berlin

DAAD Scholarship 1989–1992, DAAD Scholarship 1995–1999

Prof. Dr. Amida Sholan DAAD


Germany has always attracted Amida Sholan – out of a love for her home: Yemen. Back in the 19th century, German scientists and researchers, in particular, already studied Old South Arabian History and Languages – leaving behind a wealth of important knowledge and literature written in German. "I wanted to have access to these sources as soon as possible," says the archaeologist.

I would not have been able to study without the DAAD.
Amida Sholan

Amida Sholan was born in Taiz, Yemen, in 1964. While more than two thirds of the women were illiterate, she went to the Yarmuk University in Jordan with a DAAD scholarship from 1989 to 1992 to study Yemeni archaeology. This marked the first step towards Germany, because the university engaged in exchange with German scientists and researchers.

"I would not have been able to study without the DAAD," she recalls. Nor could she have done this without the consent of her husband. Nor did he mind when his wife, after briefly working as a lecturer at the University of Sana'a, went to the University of Marburg to do a doctorate there. In 1999, Amida Sholan returned to the University of Sana'a, initially as a Supernumerary Professor, and as from 2005 as an Associate Professor of Archaeology and Ancient Languages at the University of Sana'a.

She interrupted her teaching there in early 2008 to take up a position at the Cultural Affairs Section of the Embassy of Yemen in Berlin. As Assistant Attaché for Academic Affairs and Administrative Questions, she supported students from Yemen studying in Germany – and recommended that they made the most of their time there and established as many contacts as possible. Although Amida Sholan enjoyed living in Berlin, she was still homesick for Sana'a. That is why she eventually returned to the University of Sana'a. From September 2013 to September 2015, however, she took leave to conduct research at the Commission for Archaeology of Non-European Cultures (KAAK), an independent research department of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) based in Bonn.

The archaeology professor’s concern about her home is also demonstrated by the “damage report” that she presented on the Quantara.de website in June 2015 in the light of the ongoing civil war. Sholan described the destruction of significant historical buildings and cultural monuments in Yemen, highlighting the fact that not only is the list of war damage long, but the remaining cultural heritage continues to be threatened. “The more the current conflict spreads, the greater the threat to ancient cities and other historical places, where combat units are digging in – with catastrophic effects,” wrote the expert, who has been a German citizen since 2013 and is living in Germany because of the political situation in Yemen.

Prof. Dr. Amida Sholan

Jemen

Archäologin, Hochschullehrerin, beigeordnete Attachée in der Kulturabteilung der Botschaft des Jemen in Berlin (2008–2011)

DAAD Stipendium 1989–1992, DAAD Stipendium 1995–1999

Prof. Dr. Amida Sholan DAAD


Amida Sholan zog es seit jeher nach Deutschland – aus Liebe zu ihrer Heimat Jemen: Bereits im 19. Jahrhundert erforschten insbesondere deutsche Wissenschaftler altsüdarabische Geschichte und Sprachen – und hinterließen wichtige Erkenntnisse und Literatur in deutscher Sprache. „Dazu wollte ich so früh wie möglich Zugang haben“, so die Archäologin.

Ohne den DAAD hätte ich nicht studieren können.
Amida Sholan

Amida Sholan zog es seit jeher nach Deutschland – aus Liebe zu ihrer Heimat Jemen: Bereits im 19. Jahrhundert erforschten insbesondere deutsche Wissenschaftler altsüdarabische Geschichte und Sprachen – und hinterließen wichtige Erkenntnisse und Literatur in deutscher Sprache. „Dazu wollte ich so früh wie möglich Zugang haben“, so die Archäologin.

1964 wurde Amida Sholan in Taiz, Jemen geboren. Während mehr als zwei Drittel der Frauen Analphabetinnen waren, ging sie 1989 bis 1992 als DAAD-Stipendiatin an die Yarmuk-Universität in Jordanien, um jemenitische Altertumswissenschaft zu studieren. Ein erster Schritt in Richtung Deutschland, denn die Uni pflegte einen Austausch mit deutschen Wissenschaftlern.

„Ohne den DAAD hätte ich nicht studieren können“, resümiert sie. Auch nicht ohne das Verständnis ihres Mannes. Dieser hatte auch nichts dagegen, als seine Frau 1995, nach kurzer Dozententätigkeit an der Uni Sanaa, an der Universität Marburg promovieren wollte. 1999 kehrte Amida Sholan zunächst als außerplanmäßige, ab 2005 als außerordentliche Associate Professorin für Altertümer und antike Sprachen an die Universität Sanaa zurück.

Anfang 2008 unterbrach sie ihre dortige Lehrtätigkeit, um in der Kulturabteilung der Botschaft Jemen in Berlin zu arbeiten. Als beigeordnete Attachée für akademische Angelegenheiten und Verwaltungsfragen betreute sie jemenitische Studierende in Deutschland – und empfahl ihnen, die Zeit optimal zu nutzen und viele Kontakte zu knüpfen. Obwohl Amida Sholan gerne in Berlin lebte, hatte sie immer Heimweh nach Sanaa. 2011 kehrte sie deshalb an die Universität Sanaa zurück, nahm jedoch von September 2013 bis September 2015 eine Auszeit und forschte an der Kommission für Archäologie Außereuropäischer Kulturen, einer eigenständigen Forschungsabteilung des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, in Bonn.

Dass der Archäologie-Professorin ihre Heimat am Herzen liegt, zeigt auch ihre „Schadensbilanz“, die sie angesichts des anhaltenden Bürgerkriegs im Juni 2015 auf dem Internetportal Quantara.de zog. Sholan beschrieb die Zerstörung bedeutender historischer Gebäude und Kulturdenkmäler im Jemen und machte deutlich: Die Liste der Kriegsschäden ist lang – und das verbliebene zivilisatorische Kulturgut weiterhin in Gefahr. „Je weiter sich der aktuelle Konflikt ausweitet, desto gefährdeter sind Altstädte und andere historische Orte, an denen sich Kampfgruppen verschanzen – mit katastrophalen Folgen“, schrieb die Expertin, die seit 2013 deutsche Staatsbürgerin ist und aufgrund der politischen Situation im Jemen in Deutschland lebt.

Stand: 2015-09-22