Ladislao Mittner Prize


2018 award ceremony in Rome, left to right: Barbara Ivančić, Wolfgang Gairing, Goranka Rocco

The Ladislao Mittner Prize, established in 2002, is presented by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) in an annually alternating humanities or social science discipline to Italian academics under 50 years of age who have made outstanding contributions to academic exchange between Germany and Italy.

The prize, named for renowned Italian scholar of German language and literature Ladislao Mittner, is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and consists of €5,000 in prize money (€2,500 if split) and a one-month DAAD research fellowship in Germany.

Prize winners are selected by a German-Italian specialist jury.

Mittner Prize winners



Prize winner

2018 Translation Science Goranka Rocco (Universität Triest)
Barbara Ivančić (Universität Bologna)
2017 German Language and Literature (Literature) Carmela Lorella Bosco (University of Bari)
Elena Polledri (University of Udine)
2016 History Marica Tolomelli (University of Bologna)
Paolo Fonzi (University of Naples Federico II)
2015 Law Riccardo Omodei Salè (University of Verona)
Alberto De Franceschi (University of Ferrara)
2014 Philosophy Francesca Iannelli (Roma Tre University)
Laura Anna Macor (University of Padova)
2013 Art History Giovanna Targia (Bibliotheca Hertziana)
2012 Musicology Luca Aversano (Roma Tre University)
2011 Education Theory Anna Aluffi Pentini (Roma Tre University)
2010 German Language and Literature (Linguistics) Marcella Costa (University of Turin)
2009 Sociology Elena Esposito (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia)
2008 Economics Elena Carletti (European University Institute)
2007 Political Sciences Silvia Bolgherini (University of Naples Federico II)
2006 Translation Science Marina Pugliano (Nuovo Traduttore Letterario, NTL)
2005 German Language and Literature (Literature) Camilla Miglio (University of Naples L'Orientale / Sapienza University, Rome)
2004 Contemporary History Andrea D’Onofrio (University of Naples Federico II)
2003 Law Paolo Maria Vecchi (Roma Tre University)
Stefano Troiano (University of Verona)
2002 Philosophy Massimo Ferrari (University of Turin)