About the DAAD

Thomas Pankau/DAAD

About the DAAD

The DAAD supports over 100,000 German and international students und researchers around the globe each year – making it the world’s largest funding organisation of its kind. We also promote internationalisation efforts at German universities, help developing countries build their own systems of higher education, and support German Studies and German language programmes abroad. Our Artists-in-Berlin Program is one of the most renowned international scholarship programmes for artists.

The internationalisation agency

DAAD/Michael Jordan

The DAAD is the world’s largest funding organisation for the international exchange of students and researchers. Learn more about who we are and what we stand for.

More

Positions

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

In “Positions” the DAAD takes a stance on important issues of international academic cooperation and shares its expertise in current debates on higher education and science policies, foreign cultural and education policies, and development cooperation.

More

Evaluation and quality management

DAAD/Ausserhofer

The DAAD regularly conducts internal and external monitoring of its programmes, ensuring their quality, effectiveness and sustainability. The goal is to continually improve its services and programmes.

More

From the very beginning

DAAD/Lichtenscheidt

In 1922, a student from Heidelberg visited the United States and organised scholarships for fellow students to study in New York. It was this project that ultimately became the DAAD. A success story.

More

Mobility with a disability

DAAD / Köhler

Students and researchers with disabilities or chronic illnesses often have many questions regarding how to go about studying abroad or planning a research visit. The DAAD can help them find the right answers.

More

Über den DAAD

Thomas Pankau/DAAD

Wer wir sind

Der DAAD fördert jährlich weit über 100.000 deutsche und internationale Studierende und Wissenschaftler rund um den Globus und ist damit die weltweit größte Förderorganisation seiner Art. Außerdem trägt er zur Internationalisierung der deutschen Hochschulen bei, unterstützt Entwicklungsländer beim Aufbau ihrer Bildungssysteme und fördert die Germanistik und deutsche Sprache im Ausland. Sein Berliner Künstlerprogramm zählt zu den international renommiertesten Stipendienprogrammen für Künstler.

Die Internationalisierungsagentur

DAAD/Michael Jordan

Der DAAD ist die weltweit größte Förderorganisation für den internationalen Austausch von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern. Was uns antreibt und wofür wir stehen, erfahren Sie hier.

Mehr

Standpunkte

Norbert Hüttermann/DAAD

In den Standpunkten bezieht der DAAD Stellung zu Fragen der internationalen akademischen Zusammenarbeit und bringt seine Expertise in aktuelle Debatten der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftspolitik, der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik und der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ein.

Mehr

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Jordan/DAAD

Der DAAD vergibt regelmäßig Preise für herausragende Leistungen in den Bereichen internationaler Wissenschaftlerautausch, germanistische Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft, Deutsch als Fremdsprache sowie Deutschlandstudien. Auch werden exzellente Betreuungsinitiativen für ausländische Studierende an deutschen Hochschulen ausgezeichnet; nicht zuletzt auch die exzellenten Leistungen internationaler Studierender während ihrer Aufenthalte an deutschen Gasthochschulen.

Mehr

Evaluation und Qualitätsmanagement

DAAD/Ausserhofer

Der DAAD überprüft seine Programme regelmäßig intern und extern auf ihre Qualität, Wirksamkeit und Nachhaltigkeit. Ziel ist es, die Angebote stetig zu verbessern.

Mehr

Von Anfang an

DAAD/Lichtenscheidt

1922 besucht ein Student aus Heidelberg die USA und organisiert in New York Stipendien für seine Kommilitonen. Aus dieser Initiative heraus entsteht der DAAD. Eine Erfolgsgeschichte.

Mehr

Mobilität mit Behinderung

DAAD / Köhler

Studierende und Wissenschaftler mit Behinderung oder chronischer Krankheit, die einen Auslandsaufenthalt während ihres Studiums oder zu Forschungszwecken planen, haben viele Fragen. Der DAAD hilft ihnen dabei, die richtigen Antworten zu finden.

Mehr