Executive Committee


The Executive Committee deliberates and decides on all matters of fundamental importance to the organisation in accordance and compliance with the rights of the other bodies and funding authorities.

The Executive Committee is responsible for determining the strategic orientation of the DAAD programmes, setting up selection committees and appointing their members. Furthermore, the Executive Committee is obliged to present an annual budget, confirm the annual financial statement and annual report, approve the use of the association’s assets which exceed a marginal amount, and appoint the Secretary General upon the President’s recommendation.

The Executive Committee is comprised of fifteen elected and five appointed members, and the Secretary General. The Executive Committee may also invite permanent guests to attend its sessions.

The following members currently serve on the Executive Committee until 2019:


Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel

Vice President

Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee, Univ. of Giessen

Other elected members

  • Dr. Birgit Barden-Läufer, Univ. of Hannover
  • Professor Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne, Univ. of Göttingen
  • Professor Dr. Andreas Geiger, University of Applied Sciences Magdeburg-Stendal
  • Dr. Muriel Kim Helbig, University of Applied Sciences Lübeck
  • Professor Dr. Yasemin Karakaşoğlu, Univ. of Bremen
  • Professor Dr. Dieter Leonhard, University of Applied Sciences Saar
  • Professor Dr. Karin Luckey, University of Applied Sciences Bremen
  • Professor Dr. Eva Neuland, Univ. of Wuppertal
  • Professor Arnold van Zyl, Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University (DHBW)

Representing the student bodies (2018-2019)

  • Maimouna Ouattara, U Potsdam
  • Florian Puttkamer, U Köln
  • Anna Puttkamer, U Lüneburg
  • Younouss Wadjinny, U Göttingen

Appointed delegates

  • Dr. Andreas Görgen, head of the “Culture and Communication” department, Federal Foreign Office (AA)
  • Ulrich Schüller, head of the “Academic Systems” department, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Dr. Uwe Schmidt, head of the “Democracy, human rights, equality and social development" directorate at the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel, deputy Secretary General of the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft
  • Udo Michallik, former State Secretary, Secretary General of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the German Länder (KMK)

Permanent guests

  • Professor Dr. Hans Christian Pape, President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut
  • Professor Dr. Peter-André Alt, President of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK)

View the list of members on the DAAD Executive Committee (in German, PDF, 0.2 MB).