Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees supports the Executive Committee in matters of fundamental importance to the organisation and is entitled to file motions with the General Assembly.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for auditing the annual financial statement, approving the annual budget, and proposing electoral nominations for the office of President, Vice President and the elected, non-student members of the Executive Committee. The Board of Trustees is also responsible for making amendments to the charter of association and deciding on the dissolution of the association.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of 23 appointed and five elected members.

The following members currently serve on the Board of Trustees until 2019:


Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel

Vice President

Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee

Appointed members (in accordance with § 14 of the DAAD charter)

Federal departments

  • Dr. Andreas Görgen, Federal Foreign Office
  • Ulrich Schüller, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Hans-Peter Baur, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ )
  • Vera Bade, Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs
  • Boris Petschulat, Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy
  • Dr. Kathrin Hahne, BKM, Federal Commission for Cultural and Media Affairs

Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the German Länder (KMK)

  • Udo Michallik, former State Secretary, Secretary General of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the German Länder
  • Dr. Beate Wieland, State Ministry of Higher Education, Research and the Arts North-Rine Westphalia
  • Harald Dierl, Bavarian State Ministry for Science, Research and the Arts

German Rectors’ Conference (HRK)

  • Prof. Dr. Horst Hippler, President of the HRK
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Dellmann, Vice-President of the University of Applied Science Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering-Manteuffel, President of the University of Augsburg
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea von Hülsen-Esch, Vice-Rector of the University of Düsseldorf
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Lenzen, President of the University of Hamburg


  • Dr. Enno Aufderheide, Secretary General of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH)
  • Dr. Jörg Schneider, German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • Achim Meyer auf der Heyde, Secretary General of the Deutsches Studentenwerk
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Wulf, German UNESCO Commission
  • Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe Institut
  • Dr. Michael Hartmer, managing director of the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers (DHV)
  • Bettina Jorzik, Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft
  • Dr. Annette Julius, Secretary General of the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
  • Dr. Peter Dahlmann, German Association of Technical Scientific Organisations (DVT)

Elected members (term of office 2016-2019)

  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart (Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitization and Energy of North Rhine-Westphalia)

Representatives of the student bodies (term of office 2018-2019)

  • Stanislaw Bondarew (Technische Universität Dresden)
  • Daniel Janke (Universät Würzburg)
  • Florian Siekmann (LMU München)

View the list of members on the Board of Trustees (in German, PDF 0.1 MB).