90 Years DAAD

Thomas Pankau/DAAD

WE CELEBRATE! Nine decades of successful Change by Exchange

In 1922, a student from Heidelberg visited the United States and organised scholarships for fellow students in New York. It was a project that resulted in the foundation of the DAAD in 1925. In 2015, the DAAD celebrated its 90th anniversary, together with more than 900 colleagues and partners around the world.

Festive evening with numerous guests in Berlin

Jacek Ruta

On the occasion of its 90th anniversary, the DAAD hosted a festive evening event at the Berlin Academy of Arts on the 17th of June, 2015. Amongst the guests were high-ranking representatives from politics and science, as well as numerous scholarship holders, alumni and partner organisations of the DAAD.

Chronicle – The DAAD from the beginning

DAAD/Lichtenscheidt

Based on an initiative of a student the DAAD was officially founded in 1925. Up to now it has grown to the world´s largest funding organisation for academic exchange. Please find below the most important cornerstones of its history.

Focusing the 90th anniversary of the DAAD

Dimitri Vervitsiotis/Photographer’s Choice

LETTER, the magazine for DAAD alumni, gives insights into the world of science and culture and reports about Germany and the DAAD alumni network. On the occasion of the 90th anniversary LETTER issue 01/2015 was dedicated to the history of the DAAD and the vitae of prominent alumni. Read the issue 01/2015 here.

VIP Gallery

Ulf Dieter

Since its foundation 90 years ago, the DAAD has supported more than 2 million academics in Germany and abroad. In 2014 alone, the DAAD provided funding for over 121,000 persons, 73,000 of these in Germany and 48,000 abroad. Some well-known DAAD alumni will be introduced here.

The DAAD Network of Regional Offices and Information Centres

Besides the Head office in Bonn and the Berlin Office the DAAD network consists of 15 regional offices and 56 information centres. They represent the DAAD throughout the world and are contact points for the local partners. Please find here more information about the DAAD network.

DAAD Alumni

Ausserhofer/Himsel/DAAD

The DAAD supports students and researchers not only during their residence in Germany and abroad, but also after their stay. Have a look at the funding opportunities for alumni, which extends from the funding of conference participation up to placement support.

The DAAD presence in Social Networks

As the DAAD wants to stay in contact with its scholarship holders, students and researchers around the world, it is active in social networks. Visit the DAAD

90 Jahre DAAD

Thomas Pankau/DAAD

WIR FEIERN! Neun Jahrzehnte erfolgreicher Wandel durch Austausch

1922 besucht ein Student aus Heidelberg die USA und organisiert in New York Stipendien für seine Kommilitonen. 1925 entsteht aus dieser Initiative heraus der DAAD. Im Jahr 2015 feierte der DAAD sein 90-jähriges Jubiläum, gemeinsam mit über 900 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie Partnern auf der ganzen Welt.

Jubiläumspublikation 90 Jahre DAAD

Thomas Pankau/DAAD

Die Festschrift zum Jubiläum stellt Ihnen die wichtigsten Etappen in der 90-jährigen Geschichte des DAAD vor. Zudem geben sechs prominente Alumni Einblicke, wie die vom DAAD gefördeten Auslandsaufenthalte ihre Entwicklung geprägt haben. Wir wünschen viel Freude beim Lesen...

Festveranstaltung mit zahlreichen Gästen in Berlin

Jacek Ruta

Anlässlich des 90jährigen Bestehens des DAAD wurde am 17. Juni 2015 in der Berliner Akademie der Künste gefeiert. Unter den Gästen der Festveranstaltung waren neben hochrangigen Vertretern aus Politik und Wissenschaft auch zahlreiche Stipendiaten, Alumni und Partner des DAAD.

Chronik - Der DAAD von Anfang an

DAAD/Lichtenscheidt

Aus einer studentischen Initiative heraus entstanden, wurde der DAAD 1925 offiziell gegründet. Bis heute ist er zu einer der weltweit größten Organisationen zur Förderung des akademischen Austausches herangewachsen. Die wichtigsten Meilensteine in der Historie des DAAD finden Sie hier.

Jubiläumsausgabe 90 Jahre DAAD

Dimitri Vervitsiotis/Photographer’s Choice

Das Magazin für DAAD-Alumni LETTER erzählt spannende Geschichten aus Wissenschaft, Kultur, Deutschland und dem DAAD-Alumni-Netzwerk. Anlässlich des Jubiläums widmete sich Ausgabe 01/15 der Historie des DAAD sowie prägenden DAAD- Alumni. Lesen Sie den Jubiläums-LETTER hier.

VIP-Galerie

Ulf Dieter

Seit seiner Gründung vor 90 Jahren hat der DAAD mehr als zwei Millionen Akademiker im In- und Ausland unterstützt. Allein im Jahr 2014 förderte der DAAD über 121.000 Personen, davon rund 73.000 in Deutschland und 48.000 im Ausland. Einige prominente DAAD-Alumni stellen sich Ihnen hier vor.

Das DAAD-Netzwerk: Außenstellen & Informationszentren

Neben seiner Zentrale in Bonn und seinem Hauptstadtbüro in Berlin verfügt der DAAD über 15 Außenstellen und 56 Informationszentren. Damit ist er international aufgestellt und bietet seinen Partnern weltweit kompetente Anlaufstellen vor Ort. Weitere Details zum DAAD-Netzwerk erhalten Sie hier.

DAAD-Alumni

Ausserhofer/Himsel/DAAD

Der DAAD unterstützt Studierende und Wissenschaftler nicht nur während ihres Aufenthaltes im In- und Ausland, sondern auch darüber hinaus. Hier erfahren Sie, welche dieser Angebote - von der Konferenzteilnahme bis hin zur Jobvermittlung - vielleicht auch für Sie interessant sein könnten.

Der DAAD in den sozialen Netzwerken

Um mit Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt in Kontakt zu bleiben, pflegt der DAAD seine Präsenz auch in den sozialen Medien. Mehr dazu finden Sie hier.